Customer Reviews for Southside Rentals
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

3,336 reviews

1717 S Walnut St   Bloomington, IN 47401

(812) 339-3240

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am - 4 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 1 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021: 8:00 am - 12:00 pm
  • 12/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021 - 1/1/2022: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(812) 339-3240

1717 S Walnut St
Bloomington, IN 47401

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am - 4 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 1 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021: 8:00 am - 12:00 pm
  • 12/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021 - 1/1/2022: Closed
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joseph K. 
Rating:
3.0

The place was so crowed and hard to find place to park 20 foot truck . Lighting not very good at drop box .

Larry P. 
Rating:
4.0

Overall a good experience. Only hiccup was they didn't have any furniture pads which I had reserved with the truck in the reservation. The lady said they had 180 furniture pads but someone had a one way rental and took all the pads. They should have kept the number of pads already reserved instead of letting the other renter took them all.

JOHNNY H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

HAN C. 
Rating:
1.0

Sooo expensive, I paid same for 24 hours in a previous rental.

Andrea U. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Paul D. 
Rating:
3.0

For some reason, the rate quoted was not what was on the first printout for my signature. Agent had to call help desk for assistance. Also, no furniture pads were available. This would have been nice to know when I reserved the trailer.

TERRY DEAN M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ORVILLE B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sadettin S. 
Rating:
1.0

The truck did not have engine oil, I had to buy 4 bottles, i Just drive 15 minutes and the lights turn on

MARCO Q. 
Rating:
4.0

Jason at Less Stress Rental went above and beyond in helping me and making sure that i got the equipment I needed to get my car home after it had broken down. He was very helpful. He drove me to South Side rentals to make sure we got the equipment needed and then helped us get everything secured and on our way. I cant thank him enough for everything he did. Without his help I don't know that we would have made it home as safely as we did and in such a timely manner. Thank you again Jason.

PENELOPE B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SUSANNE B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHRISTAL J. 
Rating:
3.0

Keys were not available when I arrived (after my pickup time). Luckily someone was there and got the keys for me, but I don't know what I would have done if he hadn't been there. It also looks like I may be charged for furniture pads which were not provided as well as $25 for using less than 1/4 tank of gas. I'm not sure if that was just an estimate before actual charges were applied, but that seems very steep.

ALISON C. 
Rating:
1.0

I arranged to have a car haul trailer rented at 3pm. I arrived at 3pm and after required check in proceeded with getting the trailer around 3:25. After leaving the lot, upon loading the truck, it was noticed that one of the tires had sidewall damage . The tire was unsafe and we were going to run 200 miles. Upon getting back to U Haul, the attendant was unable to make a paperwork transfer for the other trailer. However, he did leave notes and said it was good to go. Because it was near closing time, the attendant did not accompany me to drop and get the other trailer they noted was available. This made it very difficult to line up to the hitch with frustration. I drove back and loaded the vehicle on the trailer. After loading the vehicle on the second trailer, it was apparent that the wheel strap had been previously damaged and was too short to go over the wheel and tie down. Now, I was real frustrated!! I took the trailer back to the rental place and they were closed. I could not get anyone on the phone. I went back to the house and got tools and switched the defective wheel strap with the one from the trailer that had the bad tire. Then back and reloaded the truck I have used U Haul products many times in my 59 years. The equipment has always been quality and in good working order. However, it appears that standards are slack at this location. The equipment is only as good as the general maintenance inspections that the local shop should be providing! It is not the responsibility of the renter to assure and maintain your equipment or knowing what to look for to assure safe and efficient use of your products. This situation is totally unacceptable and I would like reimbursement for my rental. for the additional 2 hours of time to make your equipment right. The delay caused me to have to drive part of the way in the dark, which I do not like to do when pulling a load. I look forward to your response and corrective actions required to assure this does not happen to future customers. The return U Haul attendant was disturbed upon learning of the poor customer service and equipment. Fred Kalakay 260-249-9420 zotman38@aol.com

FRED K. 
Rating:
5.0

The seatbelt on the drivers side didn't work

Adam P. 
Rating:
5.0

Smooth and easy transaction.

ROBERT F. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DAVID J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jon P. 
Rating:
1.0

The truck was gross I am very unhappy

Robert B. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

TAREQ H. 
Rating:
5.0

They incorrectly read the fuel gauge upon return (after I had left) and incorrectly charged me a $30 fuel fee.

David M. 
Rating:
5.0

Friendly staff. The truck, while old, worked perfectly. After-hours return worked perfectly.

Pamela H. 
Rating:
4.0

I rented truck DC 1415G, the drivers seatbelt needs replaced. The height adjustment was broken so it keep sliding down. The retractor on the should belt was also broken so the belt was loose and twisted so I guess the height adjustment being broken too didn't really matter. The speedometer was also broken. It showed I was going 75mph to 80mph. When I was parked it showed 20 mph. Other than that it was an ok experience.

ANDREW P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MOHAMED A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Elizabeth A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BRIAN R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Catherine K. 
Rating:
5.0

The handsome blue eyed young man who worked there was extremely helpful. I had visited 3 uhual locations that day and he was the only person able to help me. I will always go here first from now on.

SETH T. 
Rating:
4.0

Check in went a little rough, but everything else went ok.

Charles H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

TIMOTHY D. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BRUCE L. 
Rating:
5.0

Accept checks, cash or money orders. Also allowing to rent for half days

TYNA H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Susie P. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Chandler B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steve R. 
Rating:
1.0

It charged me once at reservation, then charged me again after at the return.

Stanley L. 
Rating:
5.0

Thank you

CHRIS D. 
Rating:
3.0

I had conflicting emails/text messages from UHaul.com stating where to pickup my rental. The location we originally choose to pick up our equipment was shutdown and had a note on the window to go to the other location to pickup our equipment. We had to go to two places. --Fail.

GARY D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Taxifulati N. 
Rating:
3.0

Slow check out. Good equipment.

Brian H. 
Rating:
5.0

All was better than expected! Thank you.

Jean E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JARED H. 
Rating:
1.0

At the last minute, I was told to pick up the trailer at a different location. When I arrived, they gave me a trailer without a ramp despite my specific request for a ramp. Finally, in the final bill, they charged me for insurance that I specifically declined! Extremely poor service. Would not recommend!

Dan T. 
Rating:
3.0

I recently rented a truck, order number 22147923. I returned the truck after hours and checked it in with my phone. When I did it charged me for gas when I had already filled the tank back up to where it was when I received it. When I got the truck it only had 3/4 of a tank. So when i indicated that is where the tank was at when I returned it charged me $18.00. I would like a refund.

David N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

STEPHANIE J. 
Rating:
5.0

Service was great! Truck was great!

JAY T. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Daicy C. 
Rating:
4.0

The experience was great. You did a great job in hiring CR. His service was exceptional....welcoming, knowledgeable, and polite. Thank you.

INGRID T. 
Rating:
4.0

Our rental went very smoothly, thank you!

SUSAN N. 
Rating:
2.0

This was rated below average for several reasons. 1. Was charged for 2 gallons of gas when only drove truck 6 miles and filled the truck with 1 gallon of gas before returning. Employee at facility would not adjust or delete the 2 gallon gas charge. Claimed that I (the customer) did not fill the tank to the level shown on the gas gage. When shown a picture of the gas gage before leaving facility was not the same as on the paper facility recorded - he stated I was being charged because I did not go back into the facility to dispute it. Didn't know that going 6 miles - U haul trucks use 3 gallons of gas! Had to contact field manager to get this rectified. I found this situation to be unethical. 2.Had to walk up a hill to get truck. Once there, truck was blocked by another truck. Had to walk back down the hill to let employee know. Then had to walk back up the hill again. If trucks are parked behind one another, then keys in office should be in order.

MARY P. 
Rating:
2.0

I took a picture of what the mileage was when I checked out the truck and I was charged for more miles than I drove. I had to walk up a hill and walk through a dirt parking lot to find the truck, then walk back down the hill to report that an engine light was on and was told to take it like that. I purposely reserved my truck at a different facility because of a previous experience at this place, and my reservation was changed to this place â€"â€" which was farther from my destination â€" the day before I came to get the truck. How is that fair ????

MARYELLEN O. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Abhirup C. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mark J. 
Rating:
5.0

rental and pickup was very easy. we were able to return the vehicle early. Check was relatively easy.

Nancy G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

HEATHER R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sherwood Oaks Ch W. 
Rating:
3.0

The cargo area was dirty, had not been swept out, but the check out and check in we're quick.

Kevin C. 
Rating:
1.0

Monroe county has a mask mandate. The four employees I observed were not wearing masks nor did they have a mask anywhere nearby. Follow the fucking law. Furthermore, in the middle of my transaction (that I was early for the reserved time by the way) the gentleman stopped helping me and worked on something else for 15 or so minutes. Then he came back and started over on mine. They did not help me hook the trailer up, explain the inspection, and then the inspection in the app/online did not include checking the inside. Well I rented this trailer to move a large cloth couch. When I arrived at the location the inside of the trailer was dirty with brown smears on the walls and deck. It also smelled awful. The smell was a combination of dead fish/sea gulls kind of like at the indiana dunes or an unclean beach at the ocean mixed with the smell of live stock such as hog manure. I suspect this trailer moved an animal and had some shit in it prior to my use. Needless to say it smelled awful, and my couch smells like it now. Finally when I returned the trailer and performed the online check in, I noted that the trailer was dirty when I received it and it should be cleaned before another family uses it. Your app then proceeded to charge ME a FUCKING CLEANING FEE. The app said I would hear from your representative in 48 hours. If I do not I will be disputing the charges with my credit card provider. Congrats on worst rental experience ever.

Nicholas A. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

William C. 
Rating:
4.0

Process was easy and quick but rates are too high, in my opinion, and you don't really have other options in this town. Truck wasn't especially clean in the inside cab, and there is not enough room in the parking lot!

MARY C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Cristina D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ANDREW H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Liliana O. 
Rating:
2.0

The staff was rides down could have cared less about customer service. The truck was on top of the hill and was not brought down but rather I had to hike up and find it myself. I rented a dolly and they didn't have it in the truck so I had to back and waited again to get help and then had to go get it myself. Zero customer service from the 3 staff people behind the desk.

HEATHER N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KURT K. 
Rating:
4.0

Please note though, our original drop off location closed abruptly leaving only hand written notes taped to the door. We scrambled to the next location where fortunately they were open and had room to receive our truck.

SUZANNE B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ayush S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mason C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOSEPH S. 
Rating:
3.0

I went to two locations in Bloomington to drop off the trailer and they didn't want to take it because of students move in weekend

Raymond L. 
Rating:
5.0

No suggestions. All went very well.

Kent W. 
Rating:
3.0

Manager made me walk up hill to get truck. Manager made me park vehicle up the hill and back large truck in space. Kinda a lazy operation.

JOHN STEVEN E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DARLA W. 
Rating:
3.0

I was charged $120 for fuel when I returned the truck with a full tank. I was given a truck on full and I drove a total of 18 miles. Somehow the person who checked it in wrote the tank was only 1/4 full. The manager said he resolved the problem but I still haven't seen the refund.

MATHEW M. 
Rating:
3.0

Better direct the customers to find their ordered equipment

MARLENA K. 
Rating:
5.0

The customer service at the Indianapolis office was beyond awful. They were not helpful and frankly were very rude and even lied to me. I hope to never have to deal with them again. On the other hand, Ashley in the Louisville customer service office was a rockstar and took care of my issue with no problem.

Chris D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Peter T. 
Rating:
5.0

The windshield wipers weren't working and almost caused me to run off the road. They need to be replaced. Other than that everything was fine.

BRYANCONOR M. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was great.

Roger R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Amanda W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Daniel V. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DUSTIN G. 
Rating:
4.0

The fuel was not full when I got the truck. It was at least an 8th low. the process of checking the truck back in was terrible. It took us over 35 minutes. It wouldn't connect with my phone at all.

DERRICK P. 
Rating:
1.0

I went to location to see if a trailer was available and was quickly told none were available and all were reserved by some man at the counter. Went back home and checked on availability online and it showed some were in fact available. I called the location to make sure and some female confirmed one was available. She was helpful, the guy I orginally talked to really upset me since he didnt even both to check on his computer or anything. Once I did get my trailer everything went fine.

Wayne J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

NELS P. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Donald H. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David T. 
Rating:
2.0

This location was not the one specified in my contract. I took the trailer to the one specified and the manager refused to let me leave it there. In dropping off the trailer at this second location, I was not offered any assistance in detaching the trailer from my car or pushing into a "parking" place. Not a good way to treat senior citizens.

David B. 
Rating:
5.0

Vehicle service excellent service and would have someone call 📞 call you and service.

JOSE Z. 
Rating:
4.0

Returning the truck was very difficult because so many returned trucks were not pulled to the side well. Other then that it was a good experience.

Benjamin W. 
Rating:
5.0

I had booked my van for the wrong day and I was still helped to have a vehicle that day and time! I was more than impressed.

MAYA T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RONALD M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GARRETT B. 
Rating:
1.0

The truck was pretty beat up and they overstated how much fuel was in the truck and understated how much I returned it with, even though it was the exact same.

GEORGIOS K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lori M. 
Rating:
5.0

Best experience and fast

JILL ANNETTE F. 
Rating:
2.0

I was given the wrong size trailer: one that was way too big for my car. I called this location nearly 20 times the day before and got no answer. My reservation location was also changed last minute. I also never received the ball hitch I ordered.

TAYLOR W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

john W. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top