Customer Reviews for Community Self Storage
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

3,761 reviews

1525 Putt Putt Pl   Charlottesville, VA 22901
(Located on Rio Road east of the mall and Rt 29)

(434) 973-0495

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am - 5 pm
  • Sat-Sun: 9 am - 1 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021: 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
  • 12/25/2021 - 12/26/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021: 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
  • 1/1/2022: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(434) 973-0495

1525 Putt Putt Pl
Charlottesville, VA 22901
(Located on Rio Road east of the mall and Rt 29)

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am - 5 pm
  • Sat-Sun: 9 am - 1 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021: 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
  • 12/25/2021 - 12/26/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021: 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
  • 1/1/2022: Closed
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

This is by far the best uHaul option. The associate went out of his way to make sure my rental went to plan. I will be returning to this location for all my uHaul needs.

Thomas M. 
Rating:
5.0

Very quick and friendly transaction at this location.

Nathan S. 
Rating:
5.0

the check engine light came on so i called to ask what to do. he was very helpful and it wound up not being a problem.

Tate W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Peter A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

COREYALEXANDER S. 
Rating:
5.0

I did an overnight return, used the app. Easy!

LOMAMARIE G. 
Rating:
5.0

U-Haul manager at this location is a real pleasure to work with. Very courtious and especially helpful â€" made my moving experience very successful. I was very grateful for his (Mark) flexibility and great customer service “can do” attitude.

Michael K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Edward S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jeff C. 
Rating:
5.0

I was unaware of the requirements for after hours drop off and turned in my key before photographing the gas and mileage. Was able to note them and do the keyless photos. Perhaps this process could be clearer. Overall very good experience.

James C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Amanda T. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything went smoothly with pickup and drop-off. Quick and easy on both ends. The man who runs the franchise was very helpful and cheerful. For example, when I tried to complete my pick up via the U-Haul app, it became stuck on a screen and would not advance to the next page, leaving me with no indication that I had actually completed the process. When I informed the gentleman of the issue, he said that the pick up was almost surely complete, and he led me into his office to confirm this by showing me on his computer screen. I also had an issue with the amount of gas indicated via the app, which was a couple of notches higher than the actual amount. The franchise owner showed me, again, on his computer, that I had chosen the correct amount. "You're all set," he said. "Nothing to worry about." Clearly, the "problems" I was having were small; nonetheless, he addressed them quickly and courteously, and I was on my way in a nice, nearly new Chevy pickup! Hey, it's the little things that count, right?

Joseph B. 
Rating:
5.0

The steering wheel was sticky and smelled like bbq sauce. Maybe scrub down lol

KIAUNAMARIA T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JUDITH R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Thomas P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MATTHEWANTHONY P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Catherine G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ADITYA R. 
Rating:
5.0

Easy to deal with, equipment was ready to go and answered all my questions. Would do business here again.

Jeffrey I. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAMES F. 
Rating:
5.0

Mark Hammond, the manager, went above and beyond to make sure my move went well. He took his time to find me a solution that would work. Thanks, Mark!

ALICIA BLUE J. 
Rating:
5.0

The check engine light was on for majority of the trip. We were told after calling back to the rental site that it was caused by the CO2 indicator. Although the truck ran fine it made me very nervous thinking it could be something else.

Larry L. 
Rating:
2.0

The truck was old and the cab was dirty. Inside and outside windows had layers of dirt.

Paul H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAMESDOUGLAS C. 
Rating:
4.0

Good

Mohammad alyas H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Thomas P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Thomas P. 
Rating:
5.0

We have rented from this location 3 times in the past 2 months and have been pleased with each experience. No improvements needed.

DANIELEDWARD P. 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly team. Got the van picked up quickly and on to our event. No issues with the van--was clean and drove great. A very good experience with U Haul. Used online return as the location was closed when we were done. It worked well--just a little slow to confirm at the end of the process.

ROBERT L. 
Rating:
5.0

Super easy return. Had a guess about returning the truck — easy fix!

DANIEL P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sarah P. 
Rating:
5.0

Mark Hammond is friendly, knowledgeable, and a super manager of this facility. A real asset!

Milton B. 
Rating:
5.0

We are frequent customers of UHaul and the Putt-Putt Location is always our first choice because of the consistently courteous and professional service!

Brion S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Patrick M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mark T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

REBECCALEIGH D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Shelly Z. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

THOMASRYAN P. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service and friendly people. I would recommend this to anyone.

DUSTIN M.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

AALIYAHNICOLE H. 
Rating:
5.0

Mark was very helpful

CHARMAINEMICHELL K. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

NATICIAJEANINE L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Walter F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

THOMASRYAN P. 
Rating:
5.0

Staff was friendly and helpful. Location was convenient and easy to access. No problems

Mary M. 
Rating:
5.0

Employees were very knowledgeable and pleasant to work with. I will be using this location again.

KELLIEFORBES L. 
Rating:
5.0

Mark parking or signage for where to park 26 ft trucks etc?

Charles M. H. 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly and efficient service. Couldn't be more pleased

Charles F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

THOMAS RYAN P. 
Rating:
4.0

The initial vehicle provided us had an issue we detected prior to loading it up for a long move. The manager was very helpful and swapped out another truck so we could be on our way. Thanks.

JAMES A. 
Rating:
5.0

Friendly knowledgeable helpful staff. Vehicle was clean and drive well. Renting from uhaul was an excellent choice.

Deborah A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

WALTER A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Walter A. 
Rating:
5.0

The dye from blue blankets I rented to cover my furniture came off and soiled my new beige sofa and ottoman. I will now have to professionally clean these items. Several of the blankets were extremely dirty, with hair and thick dust clumps attached to them that I did not remove them from the bag to use. I would not recommend using the blankets. I did find the truck and dolly to be clean and well-maintained.

Larry C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DAVID C. 
Rating:
5.0

I have rented trucks, vans and trailers from this haul (Putt Putt Lane). They have always been extremely helpful !!

MARYJANE M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

TARA S. 
Rating:
5.0

Very nice staff very polite and helpful!

VICTORINOB M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SABRENAMARY S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Thomas P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

TIMOTHYPAUL H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Thomas P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ROBERTWILLIAM W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Douglas S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Juan G. 
Rating:
4.0

Tire monitoring system light kept coming on. Too many "nickel dime" charges. Check out system for after hour drop-off or pay a $20. convenience fee is a perfect example.

BYNONANTHONY C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Paw H. 
Rating:
5.0

all good ! this was my 3rd time using this location because it works so well Manager always very helpful!

JANET W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Leah M. 
Rating:
5.0

Cannot improve on excellent. The staff was professional, courteous, friendly and fast, most impressive. Even without a reservation I was in and out with the size truck I wanted in ten minutes.

Richard G. 
Rating:
5.0

All went extremely well and I will definitely rent from this location again.

ROBERTWILLIAM W. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Carol A. 
Rating:
5.0

We used after hours drop off, which is a great option. Website is glitchy

James C. 
Rating:
3.0

To many steps for check in/check out. Need to streamline the app... Took me 20 minutes to complete the steps

Matt M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

THOMAS P. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOHN S. 
Rating:
4.0

Make it so that you can change drop off locations without having to cancel your order and start a new one. I tried unsuccessfully three times online last night to change my drop off location from my original order and was not able to do so. I want up having to cancel my order and enter a new one to get this location. It shouldn't be this difficult

PAULANDREW B. 
Rating:
5.0

Note, however, that this was NOT the location to which U-Haul initially directed us. The location to which we were initially directed, which is still listed on the U-Haul website, is no longer a U-Haul franchise. All considered, this was not a good experience. We will not be using U-Haul again.

PAUL LAWRENCE T. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Andrew B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

THOMASRYAN P. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Laura R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

THOMASRYAN P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

PAULMICHAEL D. 
Rating:
5.0

Someone met me promptly.

KAITLYN L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RAELISSAMICHELE G. 
Rating:
5.0

Very well run location in an excellent location.

RONALDHARLAN R. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Suzanne E. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sharon M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James S. 
Rating:
5.0

I when I got there I had a very low blood sugar. I didn't have my glucose tablets with me. The gentlemen was diabetic and understood . He gave me something to eat and saved me . He was real helpful after an upsetting experience before that getting a truck.

MICHELEMARIE V. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David G. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mark L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Julia D. 
Rating:
5.0

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They answered all of my questions and were very patient.

Marshand H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RODNEYJERMAINE A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ETHANANTHONY S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David F. 
Rating:
5.0

Provide snacks. Hahaha Serriously, the service was excellent, the truck was a life saver. Mark Hammond is so awesome!

Wanda A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Adeline W. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Self-Storage Icon
    Self-Storage

    We have the most coverage in North America!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

  • Truck Sales Icon
    Trucks for Sale

    We have the largest selection in the industry!

Back
To Top