Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage of Elkins

312 reviews

271 Valley Pointe Dr   Elkins, WV 26241

(304) 591-1086

Location Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021: 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • 12/25/2021: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(304) 591-1086

271 Valley Pointe Dr
Elkins, WV 26241

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021: 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • 12/25/2021: Closed
  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour customer return
  • Wine Storage

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Frances F.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

EZ good stuff super service. Thank you

ROBERT K. 
Rating:
3.0

Had to pay for an extra day. Just being a couple of hour later than expected. Where they had plenty of equipment of what I return. I understand the agreement that I sign. But could have let the extra day be not penalized go.

DOUGLAS H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BILLY JOE T. 
Rating:
5.0

I don't know as it was really good for me

LESTER CLAY P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Amelie E.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

don g.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BRENT JUSTIN H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JESSE LEE III S. 
Rating:
5.0

So clean and nice!

marilyn k.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

liz H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BRENT JUSTIN H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MELISSA E.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

I returned boxes but was not issued a refund because I couldn't locate my receipt.

MARK DWAYNE S. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Autumn M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Karen C.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Elizabeth C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

linlee E.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DIANEE S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

STEPHEN B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GREGORY THOMAS T. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOANN LORRAINE J. 
Rating:
5.0

Need to keep equipment in this location. Car Transports are a must. Driving all over the state to rent what I need three to four times a week is nuts.

DANIEL CHRISTOPH R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Samantha O.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

Great facilities and friendly staff

MARTINWILLIAM W.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

There was a new guy I believe his name was Matthew. He's going to be a valuable employee in my opinion.

KELLY LYNN C. 
Rating:
1.0

If a renter for whatever reason is unable to get the padlock off the unit. Uhaul staff should be able to provide bolt cutters to cut the lock off. And even assist in cutting through the lock. Instead of telling the customer if you damage the doors in any way you are responsible. So a locksmith came and in 5 seconds used bolt utters to cut through the lock. And yes in case you are wondering. There was no damage done to the uhaul door.

jim d.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Pamela C. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

TIMOTHY CLARK E. 
Rating:
1.0

No prorating. A full month charged for one day of storage. Charged for a 2nd unit that I never used. Staff is all lazy and rude(including the general manager). Units are on autopay, yet when I showed up to clear out my unit, It was locked out for nonpayment(my credit card WAS charged). This place is a ripoff. I would ever use this facility again. I will be posting on Facebook and informing everyone I know of my unpleasant experience at Uhaul of Elkins WV.

DANIEL T.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Peggy B.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
4.0

Be more vigilant on setting up a business account with the customer when the customer asks about one. Discounted rates need to be available for those who rent for longer periods of time. This is why I asked about the business rates. I was told "It couldn't be much because UPS rents from us all the time."

VIRGIL ALLEN D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MATTHEW SCOTT R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dorsey T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

AMY O. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Randall S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

THOMAS ALLEN A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MICHAEL SCOTT W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

HAROLD JAMES K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DAVID MORRIS B. 
Rating:
5.0

We had the best service with these guys at the Elkins location and most definitely use them again and recommend this location!!!!! Great people to work with!!

SHERRIE LYNN M. 
Rating:
4.0

It is extremely expensive to rent a U-Haul right now. I will use a different truck service in the future to avoid these high costs. Also provides a lack of accessibility to people who need to move during the pandemic.

CHRISTOPHER H. 
Rating:
2.0

Customer service is terrible and you stay on hold forever, waiting for assistance with after-hours mobile/online pickup. Long, drawn out process. Never again!

Stacy C. 
Rating:
5.0

The person that helped me was fantastic. He was very helpful and nice.

ANDREA G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

EARL JUNIOR V.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MICHAEL H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

REBECCA SUE A. 
Rating:
1.0

I literally waited patiently from 12 noon until about 4pm for the mechanic to get the work completed. He was the only person there and had to stop approximately 5 times to help other customers then resume working on my hitch and wiring harness installation. I could hear him cussing and yelling while installing the hitch because the shop door was open. He knew full well that I could hear him cussing and yelling. I could see him being upset if I somehow provoked him although I just waited patiently for him to finish the work. Someone should have been there to back him up by helping all of the walk-in customers. It was bad enough that I had to drive 1.5hrs away to get my hitch work done. I don't feel comfortable with the work he did so I'm taking it to the Anmoore WV shop tomorrow so they can at least check that all of the hitch bolts are tight and it looks safe and sound. I've worked in a customer service supervisory role most of my adult life and today was simply appalling unfortunately. Thx for allowing me the opportunity to critique my poor customer service experience. Sincerely, Carl Alkire Dissatisfied Customer

Carl A. 
Rating:
5.0

Look behind the seats for unclaimed trash!

LISA CHRISTINE A. 
Rating:
5.0

Best place I've ever used in all ways. Security, cleanliness, etc.

vickie p.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James S. 
Rating:
5.0

They were very nice fast and easy!!! I recommend it i give a thumbs up!!!!

JENNIFER LYNN P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Seth M. 
Rating:
4.0

a way to adjust tail pipe if needed.

RON J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ROBERT W. 
Rating:
1.0

To improve the next customer's experience you should recommend Ryder

DANIEL S. 
Rating:
5.0

This review is only aimed toward Liz and Jimmy from the Elkins U-Haul location. We were misled by the operators from arranging our original pick up and they stated they would be delivered when we were ready with no issues. Come to find out they are not able to deliver from this location. They tried to arrange for another U-Haul location to do so for us but the truck broke. Liz and Jimmy went way beyond customer care and brought each of our four U-paks one at a time to us. Big thank you to them for returning some faith to U-Haul company.

HAROLD JAMES K. 
Rating:
5.0

This location was a secondary one. I was guaranteed a truck at a local dealer and the evening before my pick up, I was notified by the dealer, NOT UHAUL, that I would not have a truck. This reservation was made 5 to 6 weeks in advance. I had to travel 60 miles to the pickup. Dealer was great, UHaul was extremely inconsiderate and unprofessional

PAUL ANTHONY P. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

EDWARD W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kerry N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Katharine P. 
Rating:
5.0

These dudes were badass! Van was ready when I came in, less than 5mins to check out and return!

MISTY DAWN S. 
Rating:
5.0

Vehicle was clean and did the job but had extremely high mileage/age with some wear issues (A/C and steering). Otherwise great experience. Location reps were great.

CHRISTIANMATLACK R. 
Rating:
5.0

The cost was a little more than I expected

KELLY LYNN C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

William D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOHN RITCHY F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

shirley d.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steven Alan C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sebastian B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ROBERT P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

christina r.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

The staff at the Elkins store are very nice, friendly, and helpful

STEVEN JACK C. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Derek W. 
Rating:
1.0

I had already paid over $400 for a fifteen ft truck. After being guaranteed a truck I show up to pick up no truck. The guy gave me a ten foot truck and a trailer that I had to pay an extra 100 for. So I had to pay for the mistake U-Haul made. I normally go with budget and will be from now on even if I have to go hours out of my way to pick up what I need. I only needed the truck Sunday and dropped off Monday but the rental agreement said I rented it until Wednesday which was probably more money I didn't need to spend.

LONA S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jon S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Aaron K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Martin W. 
Rating:
4.0

Have the 26 ft truck I had reserved instead of a 20 ft truck.Not happy with uhaul at all today.

SHAWN ROBERT V. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael K. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Paige W. 
Rating:
5.0

Female associate top customer service👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼

SHEILA K C.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

It was all good truck did wonderful. Everyone was very nice at you all treated me with the most respect possible.

TIMMIE RAY B. 
Rating:
5.0

I haven't always have good dealing with u-haul, but the Elkins, WV store is an exception. The staff is always helpful and willing to go the extra mile.

Bonnie S.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bertha G.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

Great!I never had a problem.The instructions were easy to follow.The facilities were impeccably clean.This includes the storage unit itself.

Rebekah D.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

Was supposed to have a large storage unit and the employee stated there was non and didn't know if he had anything I could use. Finally we agreed on a 10x10 unit, which worked just fine. Something that could be done better is communication between the call center and the location to ensure when a customer arrives at the location everything is in order moving is stressful enough.

Bertha G. 
Rating:
4.0

The Elkins facility was above average, but u-haul as a whole was one of the worst experiences I'd ever had. I didn't get the size truck I ordered over a month ago. Then, when I realized I wasn't going to make it in time to pick up the truck before they closed, I got online to try to move it to first thing in the morning, and then it wanted to give me an even smaller truck and raise my cost $130. I then called Customer Service, and after I was on hold for 20 mins, the person I spoke w/ couldn't help me. I was given the phone # for transportation. That person eventually helped me but couldn't figure out how to do the pickup after hours transaction, so he was finally about to get it for first thing the next morning with the same deal as I had previously. Overall, if there was another moving truck company in the area, I would have gone somewhere else.

Bonnie S. 
Rating:
5.0

Veterans discount

THOMAS GRAY W. 
Rating:
5.0

No complaint from me. The rental was easy and return was easy. Just keep doing what you do. Thanks

RICHARD ERIC W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GEORGE ALLEN S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Eric E. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service , employees are wonderful!!!

MICHELE RENEE H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Andrew J. 
Rating:
5.0

This location is always friendly and goes out of its way to help me. I rent equipment several times a month. I wish they could keep a car hauler for local use. If they don't have it. They find it for me.

DANIEL CHRISTOPH R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

natasha W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brent H. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

LESLEE JEAN H. 
Rating:
5.0

Simplifying the after-hours return.

COREY JAMES R. 
Rating:
5.0

Just fix your credit card machine. The employee had to swipe my card. But, just want to point out the employee that helped me was so very helpful.

KELLY LYNN C. 
Rating:
5.0

Fast friendly and always helpful. We use them several times a month.

RALPH NELSON H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

George A S.  |  Online Move In 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gene J. 
Rating:
4.0

Friendly goes a long way. While the employee was friendly, it was a basic kind of friendly. Step it up a little!!

David H. 
Rating:
5.0

Jimmy and his team do a phenomenal job!

Christopher Ii J. 
Rating:
5.0

Jimmy and crew are awesome! Always willing to the extra mile to support!

Christopher J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sydney W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Thomas W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BRIAN LEE M. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MADELINE G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

THOMAS W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MALCOLM TIMOTHY J. 
Rating:
5.0

Super friendly staff and an overall great experience!

BRANDON LEE S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RICHARD B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RICHARD B. 
Rating:
5.0

Man came out. Helped unhook dolly. Said you were all done. Took five minutes and I was gone. That is how it is supposed to be done.

David M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

FREDRICK EUGENE H. 
Rating:
5.0

Very nice and fast check-in

Andrew D. 
Rating:
5.0

Friendly, helped me with getting some boxes and let me know the different drop off options and let me know of a cheaper drop off point of I wanted to take advantage of it

HARRY LEROY JR J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ELIZABETH KAY H. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JUSTIN STONEY T. 
Rating:
1.0

We were charged return gas fill-up of $37.10 for 81.1 miles @ $3.50/gal. for 10.6/gal. That equates to 7.65mpg. for the U-Uhaul fill-up. We refilled & returned the rental w/ $6.09 worth of gas @ $1.84/gal. from Colonial Court receipt #554859 dated 11/3/20. According to the gas gage on the return/charge receipt, we didn"t receive any gas credits. Also we were charged for 2 days rental & returned the truck @ 3:43pm the first day, 48minutes passed the 3:04pm pick up time on 11/2/20 Contract #20216630. I dispute the gas overcharges and the 2nd day rental charge. Not happy with U-Haul service. Phil Cupp, Owner Cupps Furniture 11/5/20.

FRANKLIN DOUGLAS P. 
Rating:
5.0

Iv had several storage units and this one was superior to all others

michael b.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brittainny Renee T.  |  Online Move In 
Rating:
4.0

Above Average for now, I've only been using for a week. We'll see how it is after a few months.

jimmy h.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

Very well maintained

Tabitha H.  |  Online Move In 
Rating:
5.0

Brand new CLEAN Facility with eager to accommodate young staff

Michael W.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

Very professional. Great customer service.

brandy c.  |  First Impressions 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Self-Storage Icon
    Self-Storage

    We have the most coverage in North America!

  • U-Box Container Icon
    U-Box® Containers

    We ship across town or accross the world!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

  • Trailer Hitch Icon
    Trailer Hitches

    U-Haul is North America's #1 hitch installer!

Back
To Top