Customer Reviews for Lanning Automotive & Tire
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

222 reviews

2660 Hawcreek Blvd   Columbus, IN 47201

(812) 669-2629

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8 am - 5 pm
  • Sat: 8 am - 12 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/11/2021: Closed
  • 12/24/2021 - 12/26/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021 - 1/2/2022: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(812) 669-2629

2660 Hawcreek Blvd
Columbus, IN 47201

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8 am - 5 pm
  • Sat: 8 am - 12 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/11/2021: Closed
  • 12/24/2021 - 12/26/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021 - 1/2/2022: Closed
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
2.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MELVIN B. 
Rating:
4.0

Not charge a $20 after hours fee, the customer does all the work to put the trailer/van back where it was (Those trailers are HEAVY!), and checks out online, Why is there a fee when you are not paying your employees for the work the customer does?

Jayne D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tisha T. 
Rating:
4.0

The U-Haul was in great condition! Thank you for doing your part in my recent move, the truck really helped!

SHELLEY W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Frank W. 
Rating:
2.0

Customer service representative was unfriendly. Site was cluttered, disorganized, and trucks were scattered all over the lot. I was charged for gas even though it was brought back exactly where it left.

ROBERT JORDAN S. 
Rating:
3.0

Good service

WILLIAM H. 
Rating:
4.0

Everything was great.

WILLIAM B. 
Rating:
3.0

Mobile site wouldn't upload photos past the mileage/fuel step making it so I had to try dozens of times in the cold night for the cleanliness step. Thankfully a member of your chat line was on hand, and were able to resolve the issue, avoiding the self return all together. Otherwise, excellent rating.

JADE H. 
Rating:
2.0

Windshield was dirty. Headlight was blown. And I requested a small truck and was given the biggest one they had..contacted customer service and got hung up on after waiting on hold for 1 hour.

Kristina S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

APRIL P. 
Rating:
5.0

There were chips in the drivers door, something sticky on the dash. I cleaned it so I wouldn't get charged. I didn't notice it on check in. But over all I would still rent from them! They had my truck ready to go when I needed it!! So yes 5 stars for that!!

Angela Robinson A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BRIAN M. 
Rating:
5.0

Not much...reduced rental first time customer, lol. Staff great, gregarious, courteous and fast. Dealt with 4 different employees! Ramp trailer performed quite well. Overall, couldn't have been more pleased.

TERRY W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

TERENCE M. 
Rating:
5.0

In my opinion U-Haul rental service is of the highest standard and we will continue to use it moving forward

STANLEY R. 
Rating:
3.0

1. This was not the original location in my booking request, which caused confusion and delay in returning uhaul. Lannings is 5-6miles away from original return location. This caused me a great deal of anxiety and stress, i don't think i'll be using uhaul services again. 2. Combining this with the information received at pick-up location (uhaul could be returned at any location) caused further stress and confusion. Was constantly worried about being fined for returning at incorrect address late in the night. 3. Communication on key return drop box is misleading - seems like an online step is required prior to returning keys, I shared pictures of a clean truck but still got charged $25 as cleaning fees - why ask for pictures then? there are a lot of avenues to make the process easier for customers. 4. drop boxes do not carry pens for signature on envelopes - please don't ask for signatures in that case.

HRISHIKESH S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael C. 
Rating:
5.0

I have used this location and the Nineveh location and they are both excellent.

JOHN C. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Becky S. 
Rating:
3.0

I reserved a 9' van the night before pick up and upon arrival I had a 10' truck waiting for me. I was charged for the 10' truck when I was quoted for the 9' van. The representative of the auto shop attempted to call uhaul customer service but was told that they couldn't give me what I had been quoted for. If you're going to have a reservation system and give people a quote then you should stick by your word and not charge them 80 dollars more. That will be the last time I use uhaul for anything and as a military service member I will be sharing my experience across the board.

Cameron O. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BRIAN R. 
Rating:
4.0

Truck seemed shimmy above 60

Robert M. 
Rating:
3.0

The truck had service engine light on. Was told it was only an oxygen sensor and that it was not an issue. This was not the case. From a stopped position acceleration was VERY slow. A few times the truck would not move. Once the truck got to 30-40 mph, it would shift and drive great.

Jeffrey F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Susan S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Douglas T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DOUGLAS D. 
Rating:
5.0

Friendly and fast

C N. 
Rating:
5.0

The only problem I had was that the latch on the left side of the trailer was broken. I ended up buying some zipties to keep it safe on the road but im sure it would've been fine without it. It just doesn't feel super safe is all. The people at this location were wonderful. Helped me 100% even though I was late and they hooked it all up for me and unhooked when I was done. Big help. Thanks!

BLAIR D. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Shane Q. 
Rating:
4.0

I could not figure out the emergency brake handle and release. I had to park the 26 feet truck in reverse both times on the driveway at loading & unloading points. While braking on the highway, it caused me a lot of anxiety as the brakes were not that smooth. Maybe, the truck needs some servicing.

ABHIJIT D. 
Rating:
5.0

Start the countdown once all paperwork is done as it took me 20min to complete.

Guillaume G. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Burlyn R. 
Rating:
5.0

Very fast friendly and courteous. Was amazed at how easy it was to rent what I needed

GREGORY H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DONALD B. 
Rating:
5.0

Thank you for your service 🌻

tabitha M. 
Rating:
5.0

wish i would've gotten my receipt

emily J. 
Rating:
4.0

No issues with the location. They were great. I have issues with the rules Phoenix has put in place though with regard to rental equipment. I worked for 779-51 in Georgia for 3 years in 90-93. As a Center we used to go get equipment from Dealers to satisfy the reservations we had. Now, the traffic department calls the day before and tells me where I have to go to get equipment because you took a rental at a center location that doesn't have that equipment. I drove 7 hours to pick up a classic car from a dealership in Kenosha. I needed an AT. Instead of waiting for Uhaul to call me, I called the traffic department and asked where I could get the equipment. It was finally agreed I'd fetch it at a center near my house and drag it empty 350 miles to get the vehicle. As there wasn't one within 100 miles of your center in Kenosha. An hour later, someone else calls me back and tells me the center in my hometown doesn't have an AT, so we spent 30 minutes trying to determine where I could FIND one without having to drive hours out of my way. We finally did find one at this location, and it was only a few miles off the highway, but had I not known to call Traffic, this would have been a nightmare. what does a normal consumer do? Just deal with it and drive 100 miles one way because you take a reservation that you can't fulfill? I was a soldier in the early 90's when I worked part time at U-Haul. I've since retired from the Army, earned a BS in Business and an MBA. I'm now a senior project manager in an engineering firm who designs and provides custom solutions for multiple customers in many industries. I know how to take care of customers. It's apparent U-Haul has changed form the 90's to now. You're forcing the customer to go to a locatino or drive out of their way to get equipment you took the reservation for, where as 30 years ago you had the center personnel do that and get it from dealers, with the help of the traffic department, so the customer had their right equipment, at the right price, and the location they reserved it. It's apparent you've lost that. The last 4 or 5 times I've tried to rent I've had to run all over town to get what I want. That is unacceptable. If you didn't have the equipment I use from time to time, you'd never get another penny from me. meanwhile, why don't you make a monitor call to a location and see whether or not they follow the script, because that is much more important than having the equipment where you're supposed to.

DAVID G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Thiago Z. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

AMBER M. 
Rating:
2.0

The truck did not work well. It didn't start with the air conditioning on and after the air conditioning was off you had to crank it for a while to turn it on. The air conditioning only came out of the defrost. The brakes were squeaky but they worked. And the engine light was on the whole time we had it. Please repair the trucks.

ROBERT F. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DAVID K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JILL L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MICHAELK M. 
Rating:
5.0

The agent was great. I cannot say the same for the UHaul app or after hours drop off. The app contradicts what the customer service rep told us and then we found out we had to drive back to the drop off site to be able yo us the app and sign out. May be one of the worst apps we have seen or used.

MICHAEL B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAMES B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

TIMOTHY B. 
Rating:
5.0

.

DENNIS R. 
Rating:
1.0

Your online checking service not functioning, charges apples due to after hours return. I should not have to incur costs due to your system not functioning. I was also charged cleaning fee. The U-Haul was returned cleaner than I received it. Swept entire inside, no trash or personal belongings left behind. I dispute the after hours fee & cleaning fees. I never received an email with U-Haul rental charges but did receive an email with the ridiculous return charges. I am extremely upset. The U-Haul was returned before the expected date of return 7/8! I hope to hear from someone regarding this disastrous move of my son's personal belongings from Ohio to Indiana.

GARY J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Cheryl A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GARY D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KRISTOFFER R. 
Rating:
2.0

I was overcharged by them. I was told one thing when I picked it up and was charged more when it was charged to my account. Do not rent a truck from them!

BRANT M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JEREMY P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Donald P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Patrick M. 
Rating:
5.0

Na

DANA C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Timothy M. 
Rating:
3.0

location was fine, but the online process to pick up the truck was horrible. Took an hour to complete, when we finally received the code to retrieve the key there wasn't a key in the box. This site was closed so no one was there to ask for help.

Michelle S. 
Rating:
1.0

Got stuck with after hour return fee and cleaning fee…I swept out truck and removed everything. Why is there after hour fee? No car rental company gas after hour fees.

Robert T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GARY F. 
Rating:
5.0

The self serve check in process is not my favorite.

Karen Z. 
Rating:
3.0

Everything was good

DONNA D. 
Rating:
3.0

I was surprised that I was charged for cleaning when I swept out the back cargo area before dropping off. There was no mention of a cleaning fee of $25. Don't understand why charged.

Kyle F. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JESSICA C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Penny K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MELISSA M. 
Rating:
3.0

I tried to self check in. Thought i followed the steps , apparently i did something wrong as i was chared for checking in oricedure. Also was charged for gas at 3/4 of a tank i had the needle at 3/4 of a tank. Will not be back or recommend this procedure ever again. As i was charged double the amount. Very disappointed

ERICA H. 
Rating:
5.0

There was tons of dirt in the floor inside the cab. It did not affect my experience and was no problem to me. I just hope I'm not charged for cleaning since it was like that when we picked it up.

Andrea C. 
Rating:
4.0

The lady at the front desk was real helpful and nice recommend this place to anybody

MATTHEW B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Shelly B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Candace W. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ZEDRIC B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MITCHELL M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Amy L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DARRYL G. 
Rating:
2.0

On Sat Mar 15, at 8:50 a.m. I entered the U Haul center located at 2660 haw creek Blvd. Columbus indiana 47201 and was hit with a strong raw vegative smell resembling the illegal substance known as raw cannabis or marijuana or hashish. The man behind the business counter proceeded to help me I left with my rental and returned at the end of my agreed time with a quarter tank over my expected capacity. I was instructed to check the vehical in VIA uhaul.com when I returned so I proceeded to do so. I sat in the u haul rental parking lot for almost 45 min waiting and typing in the verification codes that were sent to my text a total of 10 coded were sent to me and would not work. I recieved a text stating that I could take the vehical for another day as a courtesy and only pay $20 . So I did so ... I live approximately 3 miles or less from the u haul location I rented all day saturday and took vehical home saturday eve parked on driveway and returned at 7:50 A.M MONDAY MORNING I only had the vehical 48 hours i paid in advance for 120 miles i only used 66 miles. I swept the inside of the muddy nasty cab of the vehical due to this is how I found the cab when rental. I proceeded to polish the dashboard in its entirety I polished the black mat floor the doors and put plastic down for my shoes and the dri I SHOULD OF HAD 60 UNUSED MILES COMING BACK TO ME PLUS I WAS CHARGED 3 TIMES FOR THE COVERAGE I PURCHASED Monday morning I approached the man at the rental place and showed him all the uhaul text I had in my phone with all the codes that would not work and the guy didn't want to talk to me at all his only words back to me was "how did it run" then I return home and recievecan email with a receipt showing an extra charge on my debit card?????????? Why is this 9 hours and 60 miles cost me $200

JOSEPH G. 
Rating:
5.0

Please email me a copy of the receipt.

Brian S. 
Rating:
5.0

If I ever need a truck again I will be there

BEN W. 
Rating:
4.0

Straps on the dolly were tied and frozen. I had to thaw them before loading my vehicle.

JAMES L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Alec S. 
Rating:
1.0

i put 20 dollars in gas in this truck and it was more then when i got the truck and it was very dirty and i got charged 25 dollars for getting a dirty truck and that is not right

CHARLES E. 
Rating:
4.0

The ignition wouldn't start normally u had to jiggle and turn steering wheel many times before it would turn over besides the price being quite a bit more than the 20 a day like advertised its a good place to quickly and conveniently rent a uhaul

Michael B. 
Rating:
5.0

nothing , everything went as planned, great service!

JOSEPH H. 
Rating:
1.0

I was charged twice and was told that they refunded me $492. To this day I have not been reimbursed.

JERRY W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ROY S. 
Rating:
5.0

Super easy to find and drop off the truck and trailer after hours.

Nyland H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SAMUEL H. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SHOUMIN L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tim T. 
Rating:
5.0

I thought the corporate check in process could have been better for a night return.

LEE S. 
Rating:
2.0

How about a way easier and simple after hour return? When the customer has to do a WORK such as sharing location and taking a bunch of pictures to prove miles, fuel level, and vehicle cleanliness then to me I should be getting PAID for my WORK on account of Uhaul and company!!! I suppose next time I'll keep the vehicle overnight and return it when business hours resume instead of being courteous to the company and returning it when I'm done!!!

DALTON P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAY W. 
Rating:
4.0

Don't let people place orders after hours if the location can't support after-hours pickup.

Mitchel S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SCOTT W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOSEPH J. 
Rating:
4.0

Went to pick up our rental truck and your computer system was down had to sit and wait. When we went out to get our truck we couldn't get the back door open it was broken. Had to go back inside and get another truck. Becky at your site was very helpful. We did receive a call early this morning that there was debris in the truck then needs to be cleaned out My husband went down only to find out that there was about 18 pieces of little dirt and one piece of paper. Was not happy with that situation. That is something that took 2 minutes not even to sweep out and there was going to be a $25 charge we didn't go down and do it okay sound good

JOAN M. 
Rating:
3.0

Need to update their hours on the uhaul site. Site said they had hours on Saturday, sign on the office says they are closed on Saturday.

James B. 
Rating:
2.0

Their rude. The Check in and out process (including after hours drop off) with Uhaul depending on the customers phone to make the process happen??? Navigation on the web site is not easy.

MARK S. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top