Customer Reviews for Home Away Inn
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

357 reviews

5208 Industrial Rd   Drayton Valley, AB T7A1R6

(780) 542-6000

Office Hours

  • Mon-Sat: 9:30 am–5:30 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 6/25/2024: Closed
  • 6/26/2024: Closed
  • 6/27/2024: Closed
  • 6/28/2024: Closed
  • 6/29/2024: Closed
  • 6/30/2024: Closed
  • 7/1/2024: Closed
  • 7/2/2024: Closed

Show All Hours

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(780) 542-6000

5208 Industrial Rd
Drayton Valley, AB T7A1R6

Services at this Location:

Office Hours

  • Mon-Sat: 9:30 am–5:30 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 6/25/2024: Closed
  • 6/26/2024: Closed
  • 6/27/2024: Closed
  • 6/28/2024: Closed
  • 6/29/2024: Closed
  • 6/30/2024: Closed
  • 7/1/2024: Closed
  • 7/2/2024: Closed

Show All Hours

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bruce W 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

colleen l 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Monica B 
Rating:
2.0

Man working at the counter was rude. He was not going to help me get truck attached to the trailer until I told him twice that I was alone and then acted like it was a huge inconvenience for him. The ratchet straps for the tires were very stiff and he had trouble getting them tight. Instead of using a lubricant on them, he just kept fighting it. Also truck had damage to the side that he didn’t even point out and one of the lights on auto transport was broken.

Cheryl I 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Carol V 
Rating:
5.0

Fix the right rear signal light It would also be nice if there was a jack on unit as hitch was heavy, hard to connect /disconnect

Dale T 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Matthew C 
Rating:
1.0

Equipment was excessively dirty. Mud on the roof of the trailer unwashed for a long time dirty. Man at counter was unpleasant and uncooperative, like customers were an irritant. Did not have the reserved equipment. What's the point of a reservation system if the equipment offered and apparently there is nowhere near the site?

Thomas L 
Rating:
3.0

Have larger sign in office

Gregory F 
Rating:
5.0

Only negative is 9:30am pick up time.

Larry O 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

AL B 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ruslan S 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Art F 
Rating:
3.0

Drop off was quick and easy.

ryan b 
Rating:
5.0

This was the fastest I've ever been at a Uhaul facility. Excellent service and he didn't waste any time getting me hooked up and out of there.

Casey D 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Terry L 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michelle D 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sylvia M 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Warren F 
Rating:
5.0

All good, no issues

sharon w 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Stephen D 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Justin B 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Stewart F 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

jordan h 
Rating:
5.0

The agent was very helpful, great equipment and service

DArcy F 
Rating:
2.0

The man who rented us the truck was rude, hardly spoke English, and ripped us off for gas money. He gave us the truck with no gas in it, and said we had to return it with 1/4 tank. His English was so bad I realized after I got home that he had overcharged us after examining the receipt he gave us. Very disappointed.

Henry R 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ric I 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James B 
Rating:
3.0

It was very hard to understand the manager due to language accent. But he was very helpful.

Lance H 
Rating:
4.0

Truck was clean and in good mechanical condition. Staff was friendly, helpful and courteous.

Mark L 
Rating:
4.0

Their app is wonderful! They were excellent on keeping in touch.

Dwight D 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

cory d 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brittany K 
Rating:
1.0

the 26 ft truck I reserved was suppose to be dropped off locally but I ended up getting a call right before delivery saying I had to drive to a location which was 4 hours round trip to get it. The truck was un safe, so badly misaligned I could not see one side of the trailer I was also towing which also caused it to push to one side when braking. Returning the equipment was horrible aswell. I had to go to 2 different locations for them to take it because they did not have room . After all that was done which I spoke to corporate over the phone twice to let you guys know the location it's at which you guys told me to drop it off I'm still getting harassed by you guys asking where it is. horrible service and very unsafe equipment .

Mathew C 
Rating:
2.0

No one was there. It was a hotel with a uhaul computer.

KAREN G 
Rating:
5.0

so far so good. keep up the good work.

Roderick L 
Rating:
5.0

Very efficient and nice person

Daniel E 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Carolyn L 
Rating:
3.0

This location does not do the mobile pick up. Uhaul should let people know that rather than sitting there until 9:30 when they open.

Serge L 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dawn C 
Rating:
1.0

Computer and payment machine were not aligned with kilometers read. Computer said it was in miles but the machine said kilometers making it look like we didn’t have enough for our intended trip. We made a reservation weeks before to pick up in Edmonton and 2 days before it said it could only be picked up in Drayton Valley. Did not find the man to be very nice or helpful. UHaul should have more trucks in Edmonton. There were 6 of the size of truck we needed in Drayton. I understand people are doing one way trips but there should be a better system. It was an inconvenience for us to drive that far out of town to get it and luckily we were off work and able to make it work. I would not recommend this. The truck also was only 1/4 tank full so we had to gas up before leaving. I understand people fill it to where it was left at but UHaul should have filled it up to 3/4 at least and then moving forward people fill it back up to that amount.

Ryan A 
Rating:
5.0

cannot think of anything

Charles L 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

kevin k 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kevin P 
Rating:
1.0

When I dropped off the vehicle I was told to stay at the counter. The attendant came back in telling me the cab was filthy and I would be charged to clean it up. I told him that it was like that when I picked it up. He asked me for proof and where my pictures were. He started yelling at me in front of my 9 y/o daughter who was so scared she ran across the parking lot because she thought he was going to attack me. I told him not to charge me and if he did I would report it as fraud on my credit card. He told me he would charge it to the other location, but I received a charge on my credit card anyways. He told me that I had to deal with head office. I called customer support and they told my they were opening a file but I would have to pay the charges for now. I had the vehicle for 6 hours, drove it on a highway from Edmonton to Drayton Valley. The dirtiest spot it went was the Drayton Valley Uhaul parking lot. I showed the attendant my spotless shoes the only dirt on them was from the floor mats and his lot. He didn't care and told me I had to to take pictures. I said I didn't because I did a walk around with the attendant in Edmonton and that was an acceptable condition rent the vehicle out. I returned the vehicle in the same condition as it was when I got it. Why is the burden of proof on the customer?

Dean D 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Matt W 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Malcolm A 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Randy M 
Rating:
2.0

Employees at the counter but refuse to help at 5:30 sharp!!!!! I returned at 5:34, zero help. Just bad practice

JASON O 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brant M 
Rating:
1.0

The first trailer had a short in it and took out the fuse for my running lights. Got a second trailer but could not confirm the running lights worked. The trailer also had two large pallets in the back of it. I was then called after picking it up and told I could not drop it off at a u haul dealership that was agreed upon. Told to deliver the trailer 100 kms further each way with no compensation. Upon arriving at the uhaul dealership that i was not allowed return it to as it was also a gas station, it did have the same trailer there but still had to deliver 100 kms away to saskatoon where the person runs the dealership would not stay and wait for me during normal working hours. Could not self checkout as the website would not recognize my contract number. Waited on hold for over 15 mins for a operator to answer so asked for a call back and left. When they did call back i was on hands free with my truck to checked out the trailer but almost got a 580 ticket for distracted driving for looking up info the guy wanted while at a red light. No ticket and was able to check out the trailer 100 kms away from my final destination. So a success I guess. Poorly run company with no customer service.

Brent L 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jessica O 
Rating:
2.0

The vehicle had been smoked in & reeked of smoke. There were French fries & garbage on the floor of the cab. The back had some garbage in it as well. The dolly was not in the back & I had to go get it myself & drag it through the snow. I phoned & complained the day I picked it up & have not heard back.

Brenda C 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jeffrey L 
Rating:
5.0

just keep up the good work

Eleanore S 
Rating:
5.0

Maybe the hrs for pick up would be nice but hard to do I think

Neil R 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tracey S 
Rating:
5.0

They are very friendly and helpful

MyoMin A 
Rating:
5.0

Great price, clean and easy to load/unload. Will definitely use this service again !!

Wayne M 
Rating:
5.0

Just used the drop box

ALEXANDRE T 
Rating:
3.0

App is not easy to use had to call in 3 times to get the code for picking up the truck and took over 30 min to check it back in as the app kept kicking me out and each time I had to restart the app to get it completed

Dale E 
Rating:
1.0

No englush. Rude. Was unloading my stuff and he kept trying to jump in to check out mileage etc. just wait two bloody mins next time yes ? I had to be stern after asking three times to return the paperwork he took out of the console. That was my reciept from the pick up location. The entire process and how it’s been handled has put such a bad taste I. My mouth that uhaul Canada will NEVER see my business again. And hopefully anyone else that asks my opinion of uhaul and the service provided

Reuben L 
Rating:
5.0

Fast and friendly service.

Kristin W 
Rating:
3.0

I had to walk 23km but was fortunate to get a ride the remaining 18 km to pick up the truck. I wanted a 10' all you had available was a 15' so that coat me extra because I was 40km out of my way there were an extra 80km on the van which cost me 53.00 and because you only had the large van and I had to drive extra km it cost me an additional 75.00 in fuel . I rented a truck I Calgary 3 month ago to move to Evansburg this trip to return to Calgary cost me over 200 00 more and an additional 8 hours of my time. I'm very disappointed.

Sheldon W 
Rating:
3.0

The person that was there didn’t sorak english well do very hard to understand him

Diane H 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jayne S 
Rating:
3.0

......

Erman D 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Maulikkumar S 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Pat L 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Alexander J 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Doug I 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brian L 
Rating:
1.0

Felt I was over charged and the worker wouldn't properly explain anything to me.

Robyn R 
Rating:
2.0

Maybe explain why you are charging $167 for fuel being a touch below where it should be. Give the customer a chance to put more gas in.

Brooke T 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mark S 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Rosale H 
Rating:
3.0

I had go to Drayton Valley to pick up my vehicle. I live in edmonton. We booked a week ago. I got call a day before they say that’s all we have if you want it take it. What kind of rubbish customer service is this. Pathetic !! If you don’t have enough inventory please mention on your website

Harmandeep S 
Rating:
2.0

No office signage. It’s a “secondary business” to the hotel being run out of the same lobby. I felt like I was kind of a nuisance to them when returning rental. No help out in the compound for hooking up. Two different customers were out there needing assistance with hookup, my husband ended up helping both of them.

FAYE M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

curt G 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Madison Z 
Rating:
3.0

Truck had a check engine light. Also, the person behind the counter kept saying that it needed to be returned to the same spot, or the cost would change. It added an extra 100 km to the trip for no reason, which increased the cost.

JEFF C 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Angela B 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

mathew b 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kelly C 
Rating:
1.0

The man called us to return the units 2 hours early. When we did arrive he was a horrid nightmare, ignorant, rude, mean and kicked our car as we left! Lied and said the gas was too low and he charged my credit card AGAINST my authorization for $120 gas and refused to give me my receipt for returning. He has been reported and should be fired! Was a nightmare and he also charged a tiny mom but stopped short!

Lynne P 
Rating:
5.0

Everything went well. Nothing to improve.

Aira M 
Rating:
4.0

We changed to larger trailer than I had booked online without any issue. We were late return trailer, and didn’t get charged any extra. I would rent from them again in the future.

Dallas L 
Rating:
3.0

I was charged for extra mileage even though I listed my drop off location. I had to drive a little extra in Edmonton to find a car wash to clean the truck before I could load. Very disappointed in my experience and would not recommend Uhaul as they don’t have the same standards anymore.

Johnny H 
Rating:
5.0

Uhaul teller was very quick with the return. Lots of room for trailer and backing up. Thanks Uhaul.

Garth I 
Rating:
1.0

Customer service rep at location was rude. Threw license across counter. There was no dolly and blanket In truck that I requested. Agent said it was in truck. Super unprofessional.

travis M 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jodi H 
Rating:
5.0

Easy to find.

Russell M 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MATSALLA D 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Aaron H 
Rating:
1.0

It was a nightmare returning these trucks. Perhaps you could put English speaking, helpful individuals at your front desk to greet people. Instead of people who do Not communicate well and cannot explain or be understood. Beyond frustrated. Will not use that service and will tell other not to use the Drayton service either.

Cindy T 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Roy W 
Rating:
1.0

Nobody was there. Stood inside calling repeatedly trying to return the trailer during work hours, terrible service. Parking lot has 16 inches of snow stacked up hasn’t been cleaned since first snowfall. Terribly disturbed on the service I received. Will never recommend ever to anyone of my friends and family.

Cody B 
Rating:
1.0

Perhaps the worst customer service experience. The truck was not ready upon pickup, it was covered in snow which I had to brush off myself. He handed me the keys and didn't say where the truck was Parked so i had to look and find it in -24 degree weather. I went back to ask for a snow brush and he said I needed to bring my own. The dolley I requested was not in the truck and when I asked the individual at home and away why it wasn't in the truck, he gave me a blank stare as though he had seen a ghost. Awful customer service. I would not recommend anyone to visit this location. On top of all this he was very rude and arrogant and made lots of mistakes. This individual is incompetent and should not be allowed to tarnish Uhaul's reputation.

Lowani M 
Rating:
2.0

The vehicle was covered in snow & hadn’t been started. Didn’t even know if it would start as it was -30 degrees but it did. Gentleman at the counter was not friendly. Drove it for 8.4 miles & was charged for 6 litres of fuel. Back door was froze shut & it took us about 45 min to get it open. Also paid a $5 fee for safe trip. What the heck is that??

Brenda C 
Rating:
3.0

Have people who care about the job.

Peter N 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top