Customer Reviews for Gibson's Portable Buildings
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

100 reviews

2904 S Broad St   Scottsboro, AL 35769
(Across from Jacks)

(256) 218-3110

Location Hours

  • Mon: 9 am - 4:30 pm
  • Tue: Closed
  • Wed-Thur: 9 am - 4:30 pm
  • Fri: 9 am - 5 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 2 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021 - 12/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021 - 1/1/2022: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(256) 218-3110

2904 S Broad St
Scottsboro, AL 35769
(Across from Jacks)

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon: 9 am - 4:30 pm
  • Tue: Closed
  • Wed-Thur: 9 am - 4:30 pm
  • Fri: 9 am - 5 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 2 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021 - 12/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021 - 1/1/2022: Closed
  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

LAUREN L. 
Rating:
5.0

Uhaul charged me twice for 1 truck I will rate uhaul poor!! The place I picked it up is great!!

Alisa N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Toney B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DENNIS A. 
Rating:
5.0

I rented a car hauler from Gibson's Portable Buildings and the experience was very good. They were very helpful in my situation. The situation was that I had rented a 12x6 trailer with a ramp from U-Haul at an Albertville, AL location. I needed at least a 5.5 width trailer to haul a UTV I had purchased. After hooking up the trailer and driving an hour towards my destination, I noticed the ramp did not extend all the way across the trailer and was less than 5 feet wide, not wide enough to get the UTV through the opening. I found the place in Scottsboro, left the 6x12 trailer over night, and picked it up and returned it the following day. So, I rented the trailer, drove 1 hour 30 minutes to pick it up, drove 1 hour 30 minutes the next day to return it, and paid for it without being able to use it at all. My recommendation is for U-Haul to make it very apparent when renting that the ramp opening is not 6 feet wide. I'm sure this is not the first time that has happened.

RODNEY G. 
Rating:
5.0

All was good. Trailer, tires, wiring harness all were in very good shape. The staff was helpful & friendly

Ronald W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Douglas A. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service and attention to detail! Would recommend location. Very easy process to rent and return.

Mark B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

jeff C. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

william B. 
Rating:
5.0

My only complaint from this move, is that U-Haul promises help unloading, but no one was available at the destination.

Amanda W. 
Rating:
2.0

They first gave a pickup location the day before hours away and it was difficult getting it at a reasonable location. We were told to drop off at a different location than what was in our contract by the person at the pickup location and then contacted by U-haul to go get the truck and take to the original location we were told to drop off at a month later or we would be charged a wrecker fee. Truck kept almost dying.

David B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Glenn B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mary S. 
Rating:
5.0

Easy in and out. Found trailer wires damaged took pictures was noted on contract verified lights worked and off we went. Live working with the Gibson's very nice and friendly. Look forward to the next time won't go anywhere else

Loretta P. 
Rating:
4.0

Unfortunately the unit car hauler that we rented was not sufficient to haul what we needed to haul. I have given the information on a Toyota camper to the dealer and they said let us know if it doesn't work for you so I called them this morning and let them know that it didn't work. There was too much weight toward the back which caused our vehicle to be a little squirrely and we tried to drive it. The girl there told me if it didn't work out just to let them know so I have let them know and I don't know if there will be any adjustment on the rental or not

gordon O. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Elizabeth Y. 
Rating:
5.0

Will certainly use again!

William P. 
Rating:
1.0

It was absolutely horrible, they over charged me by about 60$ because I didn't take a picture of the miles before I left. (Should have) i wanted to pay in cash instead of being charged twice on my business debit card, but they didn't know how to do that? Oh well... Also when I got in the truck I had to stop and air the tire up, it was just a very unpleasant experience and I am a local business owner myself so I know how important quality and customer service can be!! But in short I will never stop back by gibbons for anything in the future...93$ for a small u haul for 27 mi round trip was just a little ridiculous... Sincerely Travis

Travis H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

tiffany E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Charles P. 
Rating:
5.0

They did a great job trying to make sure the invoice was properly setup but there is only so much that can be done at the local level.

THOMAS J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

brett B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Susan W. 
Rating:
4.0

The contract had me returning to Chapman's uhaul he no longer does uhaul

Michael R. 
Rating:
5.0

Always accommodating.

Daniel K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAMES J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Larry D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Meghan D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Chet L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Pamela A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Amber B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Patricia M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brenda L. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tysha M. 
Rating:
5.0

Just make sure if someone makes a reservation for a certain truck make sure they have that truck. When I made my reservation I made a reservation for a 10 foot truck. When I got there he said that he didn't have a 10 food truck and he hasn't had one for months but they ended up giving me a 15 foot truck for the price of a 10 foot truck so I appreciate that but overall it was a great experience! Thank y'all!!!

Ashlee B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAMES J. 
Rating:
5.0

Very Satisfied

Tina J. 
Rating:
5.0

Awasome have used before always open when others are closed

John D. 
Rating:
5.0

Great location and service thanks

david K. 
Rating:
5.0

I have used this location before. Rick makes the experiane worthwhile. Not only does he rent equipment to me, afterwards we sit and talk and laugh about al kinds of things. I will be stopping there next time i need to rent your equipment.

JEFF G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Larissa B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ALTON M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Shannon C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Charles P. 
Rating:
1.0

Closed was just a storage place found a place to turn trailer in

John D. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Stephanie R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Patrick B. 
Rating:
3.0

N/A

Jonathan C. 
Rating:
5.0

Fix tech to be able to give hard copy to customer.

Deborah T. 
Rating:
5.0

Mr. Gibson was extremly helpful and friendly.

James M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Billy S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

martha C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Terry L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Timothy D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Andolynn Q. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Melvin B. 
Rating:
4.0

Helpful to an extent. Told me where to put it but no offer of any help. Different to previous rental I returned.

Lewis P. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Traci K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RODNEY K. 
Rating:
5.0

Uhaul is excellent, thanks

Charles H. 
Rating:
3.0

It's basically self service. No help with the hook up, no help with the checking the lights work or not. Had blinkers, brake lights but no taillights, which I didn't realize until dark during my use. Owner sat inside with the A/C. Only used them this time because no one else in my town had a hauler. Pro is it's close and easy access.

Kim B. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing to my knowledge everything was excellent. Rick and his employees are just fantastic in Scottsboro, Al They treat you like family.

dennis P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Wiley B. 
Rating:
5.0

only negative was the dog hair in center seat. this location staff are excellent to work with. this has become my go to location.

BRENNAN G. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

STEVEN W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

larry W. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent!!!

Lisa H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael C. 
Rating:
5.0

This was a very easy rental process, mostly done online. The Gibson rental people were great!!

Tamra M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tyler B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Amber H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JEFF G. 
Rating:
5.0

Night drop off

RICHARD H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Laurie B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ricky N. 
Rating:
5.0

Suggest closest drop off point to the customer request destination point. I found a drop off location four miles from my destination. U-Haul recommended a drop off point much further away. Possibly due to zip codes or other interference. Not practical for me to travel that far.

dennis P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Nathan G. 
Rating:
5.0

Cost was too high for a very short in town appliance move, will do something else next time ??

DAVID M. 
Rating:
1.0

I rented my truck from Gibson's truck and storage rental in Scottsboro, Alabama. I signed in online before picking up to expedite the process. This did not help however and my check in still took close to an hour. The morning the truck was supposed to be turned in I realized I couldn't locate the key. (Yes, my fault, and I do take ownership for this.) however when trying to solve this problem and turn the truck in, Gibson's stated they didn't have any spare keys. Poor planning on any rental truck provider's part, but okay. I was prepared to have a new key made just needed guidance as where to go. Gibson's closed at noon that Saturday leaving me no assistance. I was put on hold or hung up on multiple times by U-haul customer service and roadside assistance. I was trying to resolve this issue starting at 7 am on Saturday 9/29. I did not receive any helpful advice from U-haul until 8pm that night when they gave me names/number of someone who could make the key. This was only accomplished because of me filling out a roadside assistance request online. Not because of any help from the live persons I had been in contact with that day prior nor the rental provider. I've used U-Haul many times and been pleased every time. However, this experience was a true nightmare. Yes, I take ownership and responsibility/costs for losing the key. I do not,however, think I should be responsible for the extra rental charges past the original schedule day. If it had not been for the poor customer service provided by Gibson's or U-haul itself that day, the truck would have been turned in on time. Please help me resolve this issue, or I can promise U-haul will not be my go to moving help in the future, nor any of my families.

Melanie S. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Caitlin C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHRISTINE T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Marvin S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

darla J. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MARK M. 
Rating:
5.0

Have more dealers like this fine dealers and you'll do fine.

Roy S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

LARRY G. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything happened just as planned. From the equipment Rick Gibson's customer service. I was very happy to meet him. I will call him each time we have a need.

JEFF G. 
Rating:
2.0

We have been double charged... We paid 144$ and turned the uhaul in the next day which was yesterday sunday March 18 and we rented it on Saturday at 2pm... we are now trying to get in touch with you guys and just keep getting put on hold...This is ridiculous... If you guys are going rent a product to someone don't double charge them because I can guarantee will will not use U HAUL ever again...we need this money in our account because we are moving with children and we are now behind on funds because of an error on your part.. And now you cant evne answer when we call and keep putting us on hold...Ridiculous... we would never recommend your service to anyone

Patrick L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Herbert N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

david C. 
Rating:
5.0

We didn't even have to go into the office. Rick met us outside, read the mileage, told us to expect an e-mailed receipt, and we were on our way. We could tell that he valued our business as well.

Wanda Z. 
Rating:
3.0

When we got truck gas was 3/4 full took back on half they charged us 92 dollars

TAMMY P. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dave W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

PHILL B. 
Rating:
3.0

Chapman's Mini Storage has always been our 'go-to' for renting U-haul equipment. We were used to his style of service. Since he retired, their hours are not what they used to be, so we had to choose another option. The young lady that assisted us said that U-haul is not their main focus, and the service proved that. We chose another location when we rented a U-haul the next weekend to complete our move.

William D C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Laurie W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Nevin Z. 
Rating:
5.0

Great friendly people who are wonderful to work with. Thanks !!!

DAN D. 
Rating:
5.0

Very obvious they take exceptional care of the equipment they have! Awesome service!!

Jason P. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top