Customer Reviews for Armory Shell
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

225 reviews

8377 Enterprise Dr N   Mountain Iron, MN 55768

(218) 749-1412

Office Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 10 am–4 pm
  • Sat: 9 am–12 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 7/4/2024: Closed
  • 7/17/2024: Closed
  • 7/18/2024: Closed
  • 7/19/2024: Closed
  • 7/20/2024: Closed

Show All Hours

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(218) 749-1412

8377 Enterprise Dr N
Mountain Iron, MN 55768

Services at this Location:

Office Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 10 am–4 pm
  • Sat: 9 am–12 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 7/4/2024: Closed
  • 7/17/2024: Closed
  • 7/18/2024: Closed
  • 7/19/2024: Closed
  • 7/20/2024: Closed

Show All Hours

  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lloyd P 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joseph L 
Rating:
2.0

Uhaul is a side business for this location and therefore I should not have expected too much from the service I got so my expectations were met but it sure would have been nice to be at least pleasantly surprised, but I wasn't.

THOMAS G 
Rating:
5.0

store was closed when I arrived

ron h 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jeremiah K 
Rating:
2.0

I had originally reserved a 5 x 8 trailer for Mon AM 5/6 in Duluth MN. On the day before, I received notice that this had been changed to Superior WI. I had been informed previously that this may occur, so not a problem. Then, Mon AM, I was told that the pickup time had been changed to 2 pm; which was not good for me. So I contacted customer service, and after looking over some remote possibilities, they agreed to let me have a 6 x 12 trailer for the same price. Only the nearest one was in Saginaw MN, over 40 minutes from my home. I agreed, and immediately left to pick this trailer up. When I arrived there, no one was there, there was no visible office and there didn’t appear to be any trailers on the premises. So I called the number for the location, and spoke to the man who was in the house next door. He said he had been dealing with a personal tragedy, and apparently, his online inventory was now inaccurate. He was helpful however, and searched for the nearest trailer, which was another 45 minutes further north up in Virginia, MN. At this point, I had no choice, so I headed up there. The U-haul was located in a repair shop called Armory Shell. When I arrived, they looked at my vehicle and told my I needed a receiver ball and hitch. When I had previously looked over U-haul’s website, they listed this item as optional equipment available at pickup time? In fact, a U-haul rep had confirmed this with me some weeks before? But they said they had no receiver ball/hitches there at all; they directed me to the auto parts store a short distance down the street. Told me to simply ask for a 2” receiver ball/hitch attachment. As advised, I went there and told them what I was doing, and they sold me one. Returning to this U-haul/Repair Shop, they took this device, attached it to my vehicle, tested the lights connections, and told me I was all set. As I was driving home and stopped for gas, it appeared that this connection was very low, even the chains were dragging on the ground until I tied them up? But I assumed they must know more about this, than I did? After getting home, I loaded up the trailer with my belongings. When I got up the next morning (Tue 5/7), it appeared that the trailer was much too low to the ground to safely drive it? We called U-haul roadside assistance, and they did not offer any assistance. Told me that I needed to reload the trailer and put the heavier items towards the back? Loading instructions advise against this, as it causes dangerous swaying? I asked if they could send someone to assist, to possibly bring another hitch connection which would lift this configuration up higher? They didn’t seem to know if this would help or not, couldn’t seem to offer any helpful advice, and refused to send anyone. It was about to rain very hard in a matter of minutes, and so, we hurriedly unloaded everything in the trailer onto the front lawn. (I had stopped in front of the house, and didn’t want to attempt to back the trailer in this condition into the driveway again). We managed to get everything into the garage before it rained. I brought the empty trailer to the original dedicated U-haul dealer in Duluth, MN, after speaking to him on the phone about other options, including renting a 15 ft. truck and trailer for my vehicle. This would’ve cost thousands, but I had little choice at this point? He said they had that configuration available in Saginaw, MN, which I politely declined, explaining what happened the day before there. When we arrived, I looked over the large selection of receiver ball/hitches they had available at this dedicated U-haul site, asked Richie, the technician, if we could use one of these, and just lift the trailer up higher? Even though he was very busy, and it was raining pretty hard at this point, he took the time to get the correct receiver ball/hitch for me, that raised up the trailer to the correct level. When he saw what the U-haul/repair shop in Virginia MN had sent me out with, and heard what I told them, I could tell he was shocked and dismayed. I thanked him very much, and left with the correct connections. I managed to load up the trailer again, despite the rains, and left on my 1200 mile journey about 6 hours late and very tired out, from all the extra driving, and extra loads/unloads. I would suggest that U-haul require that all distributors (especially those who have U-haul as just a side business) have the proper training, and optional equipment in stock, to handle connecting the customers to the trailers in a safe and knowledgeable way. Also, that there seems to be some issues with the online inventory system, or I wouldn’t have been sent 45 minutes from my house, to a place way up in northern Minnesota that didn’t have my reserved trailer. And last, I would suggest additional training for the roadside assistance department, as they were not very knowledgeable nor helpful. And they should be willing to actually send someone to the roadside where you are, to assist you. P.S. - ending on a positive note: you also need to give Richie in Duluth MN a big raise and a pat on the back, for saving this whole trip for me.

ROBERT B 
Rating:
3.0

Uhaul changed my drop off location and did not tell me at the time of payment. I had to drive an hour out of my way to make the return compared to the location I booked.

Alan G 
Rating:
4.0

The truck itself was great... but there was some type of sticky drink spilled on the middle seat of the cab, and where you keep your drinks. I only know because I had a water in there and noticed it when it was stuck to the surface. The brown stuff on the middle seat I tried to get off so I would not be responsible, but I didn't realize it was there until I was taking pictures to get my final bill . Other than that customer service was very helpful at drop off because the app was not compatible with my phone so I could not upload pictures or mileage I had, but I kept everything just in case.

Leah B 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Craig H 
Rating:
4.0

Warm up the truck and have ready to drive away from the office

Kimberly O 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David D 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Melissa R 
Rating:
4.0

Our paperwork was all messed up, wrong numbers/name Although Armory fellow very nice, it continued to be messed up when we turned it in in FL We finally gave up trying to get it corrected and instead just turned it in and got a receipt. At least we have to although still in wrong name

LIN B 
Rating:
5.0

I walked into the store and everything was ready just like the guy called and put in my application and we went out there and picked up the truck and filled it up and went

jeanee l 
Rating:
2.0

The employee seemed put out by us dropping off the trailer. Maybe he wasn't the regular uhall guy. He said the trailer would be checked in later. I received notice the following day it had been checked in. When asked for a receipt and our deposit we were told no receipt until it was checked and a check for the deposit would be mailed later.

Jim S 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jodi D 
Rating:
5.0

Very fast , efficient and friendly service. Checking the veo Glenna maybe in was so easy on the check in app!!! Thank you!

Terry D 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jim R 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

LYLE J 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael A 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mike W 
Rating:
4.0

The main issue was signing in from phone. You couldn’t just click the link that was text and sign in. Had to keep getting approval numbers text.

Kimmy O 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mary J 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Timothy Y 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Peter S 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Larry V 
Rating:
3.0

Agent could not identify my usual drop-off location, but he had the wrong city entered into the drip off site address. He was a very nice and personable young man and tried his best to be helpful. Did a wonderful job hooking up the car transport, When the safety straps had been put away incorrectly, he was able to correct them and help us hook up the car.

Evelyn W 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Roger R 
Rating:
2.0

Had to hook up the trailer myself with no instructions. Staff never checked the hookup only took a photo and sent me on my way. No personality and talked to another person the whole time.

Daniel K 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

patricia r 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Greg E 
Rating:
2.0

A manager recorded our long phone disussion ---- listen to all the issues i reported, both safety and maintenence & operational

JOHN S 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GINA M 
Rating:
5.0

Joe was wonderful and so accommodating. Thanks to Joe for taking care of our moving needs.

BRABA M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert C 
Rating:
5.0

We were charged incorrectly through the U-haul app. The location was easy to work with, but the app had many glitches.

Be F 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Abigail P 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

mary b 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert O 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GALE P 
Rating:
5.0

Thank you for allowing us to rent the van longer than originally anticipated!

Thomas H 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joseph H 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RON E 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gregory B 
Rating:
5.0

Helpful and efficient

MERRY L 
Rating:
3.0

Safety chains were not legal per Minnesota law.

Gregory B 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Carol S 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

scott w 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was clean and easy to find, but I didn’t receive any furniture pads even though I paid for them.

Peter M 
Rating:
5.0

Unfortunately was told didn’t have to fill it back up, asked numerous times to clarify, and was charged 12.75 to refill it. Didn’t expect that

Richard M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Shaquela C 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Orlynn O 
Rating:
3.0

When uhaul overcharged me for an extra day that I didn't use, Armory Shell was no help at all in getting it refunded. Said they couldn't talk to uhaul about it. Amazing that a uhaul vender can't talk to the main company. Took me three hours to get the problem straightened out. Totally a problem between Armory Shell and uhaul corporate. Will consider all other options next time.

GARY D 
Rating:
3.0

They were indifferent to my plight of needing extra time and said just do it but they weren't responsible for the rental

kevin l 
Rating:
4.0

Returned on a Sunday when the return site was closed. I used the regional personnel for return and Paige was very helpful.

Ronald H 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James B 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

PEGGY G 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Isaac K 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Leanne S 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

eric g 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Eric W 
Rating:
5.0

Armory Shell was great to work with. Employee came oit to help hook up the trailer I rented. Drop off at Ken’s Repair & Sales went smooth.

James K 
Rating:
4.0

The van was newer no complaints there, but getting all the info logged in for the rental was a pain . I think it needs to be streamlined.

Jeffrey S 
Rating:
3.0

Very little human interaction, but understandable due to COVID. Rental trailer was covered in snow and I had to clear top, back and fenders with shovel and shop broom to allow lights to be visible. Trailer itself functioned well and interior was clean. One fender light was not working, didn't discover this until I cleared the snow at a gas station. Overall impression was that under other circumstances the trailer could have been better prepped. But again, I was fine with the experience due to the pandemic.

RONALD O 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Greg N 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jeffrey L 
Rating:
4.0

Have the people there by your side to help get the equipment rather then have the customer attach the trailer by themselves and such.

Stephanie D 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David S 
Rating:
2.0

They keep trying to push for us to get a van. We just needed a trailer. They were crabby and not helpful. I will go to a different location next time.

Michael S 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Aaron B 
Rating:
3.0

Very busy location Need someone who can check Uhaul in at time of return

Stacey R 
Rating:
2.0

I had my Uhaul scheduled over a month in advance through UHaul and confirmed with Range Rent All. The night before pick up, I called to confirm again when our UHaul truck would be available by 8am. The time was extended to 9am. My husband went to go get the Uhaul truck and there was no truck ready for us to use. The owner Jeff said he would call when it’s ready. By 11am no truck was available so Jeff contacted Armory Shell for us to get a truck but only a 15foot truck was available and we needed a 26 foot. My husband picked up the 15foot truck and we made it work with several trips. Jeff apologized and said to contact UHaul for a complaint and a deal. We know it was no Range Rent All’s fault however UHaul did not manage the trucks as they should have for me to get the right size truck on time. Our move would have been done quicker if UHaul did not over schedule people with trucks. It’s disappointing and was stressful as I arranged plans with UHaul with plenty of notice. I also tried calling UHaul on the morning of our move to make a complaint and was on hold for 20 minutes so I had to end the call before speaking with a representative do to me needing to pack and get out of my rental house on time. My poor rating is not towards Range Rent All or Armory Shell. This is UHaul at fault for their mistake. I would no recommend anyone to contact UHaul to schedule their trucks. I will be telling friends to contact local moving companies instead.

Clint H 
Rating:
3.0

I rented a dolly when scheduling my pick up online. I was charged and there was no dolly in my Uhaul truck.

Mason W 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Andrew E 
Rating:
5.0

The furniture pads were really dirty. Some of them had big holes in them. They made some of my furniture very dirty. I was disappointed in that.

Robert W 
Rating:
3.0

A bit muddy where we picked up the van, had mud transferred into van. It had just rained. Otherwise ok. Just the spot where van parked muddy, parking lot as mostly well drained gravel.

Michael K 
Rating:
5.0

THANKS FOR GREAT JOB

CHRIS K 
Rating:
5.0

The guy behind the desk was awesome

Bryan M 
Rating:
5.0

Love office staff

CHRIS K 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MICHAEL W 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Stacey S 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Scott W 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Linda B 
Rating:
1.0

The guy would not un-hook trailer said he was too busy. Said he could not give me a receipt Dropped off trailer at 8am Wednesday and he checked it in at noon on Friday. I was hit with a late fee. Called him and he said he forgot but he couldn’t help me. Called U-Haul but the system was down. I’ll just eat the late fee. My advice is to stay away from Armory Shell

KENNETH M 
Rating:
5.0

Process was quick and easy!!

Wayne P 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kate S 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jesse T 
Rating:
3.0

Wish a closer location was given. Went 50 miles back down to return after driving 500 miles up.

beverly b 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Larry L 
Rating:
4.0

Good service, friendly helpful

Steve D 
Rating:
1.0

I would never recommend Uhaul as they are inconsistent in their business plan and they are less than honest in their dealings. They do not stand behind the promises that they make nor do they care they feel like it I’m sorry should be adequate and frankly when it’s other people’s money I’m sorry is not adequate

Angela J 
Rating:
4.0

Alittle confusion between staff but they were friendly and nice.

Brian S 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Toni M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jerry P 
Rating:
5.0

Everything went without a hitch, the customer service from the 3 agents on the phone to find me what I wanted and the attendant at the Amory shell were pleasant to work with.

Gary M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

travis n 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jay H 
Rating:
3.0

Have the truck I initially reserved at the initial place I reserved. It's a good thing I had my own furniture pads since the location didn't have any - he gave me a refund for the $10. There was a wrench icon lit up, so I assume there was some maintenance needed. The other truck in the lot hadn't been released from recent maintenance either.

Jennifer P 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

angela g 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top