Customer Reviews for The Storage Mall of Amsterdam
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

79 reviews

1269 St Hwy 5 S   Amsterdam, NY 12010

(518) 620-4394

Office Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am–4 pm
  • Sat: 9 am–12 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 7/20/2024: Closed
  • 7/24/2024: Closed
  • 8/3/2024: Closed
  • 8/7/2024: Closed
  • 8/17/2024: Closed
  • 8/21/2024: Closed
  • 8/31/2024: Closed
  • 9/4/2024: Closed
  • 9/14/2024: Closed
  • 9/18/2024: Closed
  • 9/28/2024: Closed

Show All Hours

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(518) 620-4394

1269 St Hwy 5 S
Amsterdam, NY 12010

Services at this Location:

Office Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am–4 pm
  • Sat: 9 am–12 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 7/20/2024: Closed
  • 7/24/2024: Closed
  • 8/3/2024: Closed
  • 8/7/2024: Closed
  • 8/17/2024: Closed
  • 8/21/2024: Closed
  • 8/31/2024: Closed
  • 9/4/2024: Closed
  • 9/14/2024: Closed
  • 9/18/2024: Closed
  • 9/28/2024: Closed

Show All Hours

  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
2.0

The gentleman employed by the storage mall was excellent - friendly and exceedingly helpful. This feedback is strictly about our experience with U-Haul. The systems were down which I understand makes things challenging for all however we kept being sent links that did not work or went to a page not found (404 error). The woman (U-Haul associate) that the storage mall employee called for help was incredibly rude to both him and us suggesting that we should have known we needed to create an account for the rental to work (spoiler alert, it still didn’t). This whole ordeal took 45 minutes and the U-Haul associate kept suggesting the issue was that we were late for our pickup which was supposed to start at 9 am. The icing on the cake was a phone call from U-Haul the next day claiming we hadn’t returned the vehicle instead of checking with the location first - it had been returned.

Amanda N 
Rating:
5.0

My equipment had so much damage on it I was uneasy about being accountable.. Also, the back door, while latched firmly , gave me a warning of an open door during the entire period. During braking , there were some concerning knocks and bangs. A harrowing experience.

Kimberley G 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent customer service picking up the vehicle, and vehicle well maintained. Thank you for a great experience.

Wilfredo C 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kristen R 
Rating:
1.0

I've had great experience at uhaul in the past at other locations but this location was terrible

Alex W 
Rating:
5.0

The whole process was quick and easy, the employee at the store was super friendly and helpful

Sarah O 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Raymond M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Israel R 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ROSEMARIEL T 
Rating:
5.0

Best uhaul experience I have ever had. I have had quite a few.

Stephen O 
Rating:
3.0

We have rented dozens of U-Haul trucks over the past 10 years and have never been so disappointed in the pick up of a truck. We were told by the service rep that he had cleaned and swept the truck before we arrived. He clearly hadn’t because there were candy wrappers in the cab and balled up packing tape and broken crayons and parts of kids toys in the back. There was so much melted and refrozen snow hanging off the top of the truck that I had to go into his office and ask to borgg to ow a shovel to knock it all off or it would have been a huge hazard to the drivers on the highway behind me when it came flying off the truck as it melted! He told us the right rear tire had just been replaced so we should ignore the light on the dashboard that warned us that the tire was flat. We drove it 15 mins to our house as directed but quickly noticed that the steering was off and it felt weird so we took it to get air in the tires. The posted psi is 80 per tire and he had the right rear tire filled to 22!!!!!! It was flat!!!! The right front was at 62 and the 2 drivers side tires were inflated to 83 each. No wonder the drive was so uneven. Totally unacceptable and dangerous to be given a truck in that condition!!! Aside from the fact that we had to go out of our way to find a place to dispense air on a Sunday night and take the time to figure out how to add the air in the cold and snowy dark…We could have had a tire blow on the highway. Really disappointed and annoyed and angry.

Christiane G 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jeremy H 
Rating:
5.0

The gentleman that help me was fast and knowledgeable always ready to help

Joel M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Norisuke Y 
Rating:
3.0

Everything was very clean, however, the cabin smelled like cigarettes.

John S 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

john p 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Linda H 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Denissa T 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

AARON C 
Rating:
4.0

Computer hookup was shaky. (Might have been a Uhaul system problem). Agent had considerable difficulty completing the checkout, but kept at it until I was able to take the truck out.

PAUL J 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Andres A 
Rating:
5.0

Give the next customer the correct address!!!!!!! We were almost an hour late picking up the truck because Uhaul gave us the wrong address. The owner of the Storage Mall of Amsterdam has told Uhaul over and over to add to the address so people can find him. Time to get your head out of your ass and do it!!!

ELEANOR W 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kimmy T 
Rating:
1.0

The associate is the only reason I'll be back. JIMMY tried at self storage to do all he could. Its the company. Snow storm couldn't get the car back in time. Charged for three days. Picked up 11 am on monday dropped off 1230 pm wednesday. Used 10 miles. Corresponded with company whole time. Land to lot is not plowed terrible to drive truck up the hill in the snow storm. There is a cliff and some water you will slide. Feared for my life but I could not keep getting charged. Thank God for the insurance I paid for. So do not rent if there is snow because you can't be helped. I was charged for a dolly when the phone representative who sent me there said this location had one. There wasn't one. It was on my original receipt because associate wanted to send me to another location to grab one however please never rent from the ice cream location in Fonda. It was where I originally wanted to go. JIM is super Creepy. The location to both places is wrong on the GPS. You cannot get to either place. Self storage brings you to a man's house in pattersonville. DO NOT KNOCK ON THE BLUE DOOR!!. and Jim from Fonda laughed at me because I was at an abandoned building. He spent ten mins saying he's dont this for 27 years. When I couldn't get him to give me another location next to him for my GPS I said I try another way to get there. He called me back ALL DAY PLAYING ON MY PHONE. Harassing me after I begged him to stop calling. I have recordings and witnesses. Amsterdamn has always been a problem. Uhaul is always a problem I dont know what to do. Shannon hunt runs from me everytime I try to meet with him. I've complained previously to no avail. I hope this is public.

Danell J 
Rating:
2.0

I was transferred to this location from another due to a lack of equipment. The check in and dispatch process took 20 minutes longer than it should have and I ended up having to do the entire process myself. This location did not have the add-ons that I requested (dolly and furniture pad). I have still not been refunded the money that I was charged for these.

Sara S 
Rating:
5.0

Manager was very helpful and friendly

Lynn F 
Rating:
3.0

GPS sent me to a different address to return the U-Haul truck. A residential address. I was told it happens ALL the time. That's the ONLY reason I wouldn't recommend this storage area. PLEASE ADJUST THE ADDRESS. It added well with over a half hour of runaround. The gentleman was very helpful, friendly and professional. Great staff.

Elaine L 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sally O 
Rating:
5.0

After a mix up with a truck I reserved at another uhaul location I came here and had a much better experience. The representative in the office was very helpful and he made the process very easy and quick. I highly recommend renting from this location.

HANNAH C 
Rating:
1.0

Vehicle was poorly maintained that leak oil horribly I wasn't left with a full tank of gas the whole process of checking in and out by your mobile app was horrible

John H 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kelly R 
Rating:
1.0

My GPS brought me to the address you listed - there was no UHaul signage of any sort besides a computer printed out black and while sign on the door. If the one other uHaul truck weren't parked outside I would have thought I was in the wrong place. The app at check out flashed something about the keys for 2 seconds and then timed out, and I couldn't get that information back leaving me clueless of what to do with them. Luckily a non-uniformed worker showed up while I was there to take the keys, but I ultimately left wondering if that person was even a uHaul employee.

christina b 
Rating:
3.0

The place was closed

Keith B 
Rating:
1.0

My Experience was not that great. I reserved a truck and I went to get it and no one was there. Waited around for a hour, only to have to go another place way out of my way. Then a chunk of ice came off and took out the grill and lights of a truck behind me. I as to pull over and file a report

Mark P 
Rating:
5.0

Outstanding, professional service.

David K 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Nyleen V 
Rating:
1.0

GPS provided us with the wrong address. So we spent an extra half an hour trying to locate the place. The key box was not labelled.

Kristina F 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly was a pleasure to do business with definitely an A+

Kenneth T 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Katrina R 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jeffrey G 
Rating:
2.0

Trailer parked on incline hitch not accessible. Small female employee unable to assist. Had to physically push trailer up hill backwards and block wheels to keep from rolling back down hill. No jack on trailer. Had to lift to hook up. Quite heavy. Wire harness destroyed. Bare wires exposed. No spares at rental location. Had to drive to nearest uhaul location and remove a harness from another trailer.

Lewis H 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John S 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Xavier A 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jennifer J 
Rating:
4.0

Better and safer location than the recommended site el caribe. I was not comfortable leaving my vehicle there

Chris B 
Rating:
3.0

Dripped off after hours

craig j 
Rating:
3.0

Dropped off truck after hours. Location closed. Nothing to rate.

Craig J 
Rating:
1.0

The representative who assisted us was clearly not interested in making sure our experience was great. Not only was she late opening the facility that day, but she immediately stated that we could have taken any truck on the lot as she leaves the keys in them overnight because she does not care if they are stolen, as they are not her trucks. Upon receipt of the vehicle it was dirty and our equipment was not available. When asked about the equipment she stated that she did not know and that she merely rents out trucks, and that I should call Uhaul myself. We ended up having to have my significant other drive to another location out of the way to pick up the furniture pads and the dolly we were supposed to have received. Fair warning for anyone picking up here, I will never return. Possibly the worst customer service experience I have ever had.

Malyssa W 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert M 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jerry G 
Rating:
3.0

A car trailer was attached to the box truck we rented, I had to removed it myself. The employee was great, however.

aaron l 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Elizabeth Z 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

paul t 
Rating:
5.0

The girl at counter was very friendly and helpful.

Edward K 
Rating:
1.0

The truck was not there and they gave it to someone else after I reserved it. The main office said it was there on Sunday. I called to make sure on Monday and it was gone and it would not be back until Wed. night. NOT HAPPY!

Michael R 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jeremy H 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Marilyn R 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Pablo O 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Amanda P 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BRANDON S 
Rating:
5.0

all good

Jason B 
Rating:
3.0

cargo area was not swept out, dirt, broken cfl light bulb and spilled laundry detergent. cab was also dirty. I've rented uhauls plenty of times in the past and don't ever recall getting a dirty vehicle. First time for everything.

KEITH B 
Rating:
3.0

There is no attendant to help out a trailer on, so if you need help, you need to bring someone with you to help out a trailer on.

Jill W 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Carlos C 
Rating:
1.0

The lady that was at the store was NOT helpful at all on pickup. I had a concern about the rate being that I only needed a trailer for 1 day and I was getting billed for 2. I asked her about it before hitching up and she just put in her jacket and ran out of the office. There wasn't anyone else there that needed assistance, but she ran off as if there were. Before she ran out she just scribbled down a number and said if you don't like the price call them. I will not be returning to this location again.

Josh W 
Rating:
3.0

Make sure that your billing is accurate! I said "No" to the Safe Move Insurance at the Uhaul location, and the $14.00 was still charged to my card.

Matthew S 
Rating:
1.0

The trailer I rented was missing a vital part which I had to purchase on my own. There was no one there who could help me hook the trailer up. My bill was twice as much as it was supposed to be. My trailer was not at the UHaul store, but at a satellite location.

Art T 
Rating:
1.0

To start with, they didn't have any idea about my rental. Took over an hour and 3 phone calls to find a key to a truck. Truck didn't have the items I paid for in it. Returned the truck in 3 hours, to no one present at the location. Uhaul called 5 days later to say my rental was still open. DO NOT SCHEDULE ONLINE or BY PHONE. Go directly to a location and speak with employee's there. U-Haul planning and communication with franchisee's is extremely inadequate.

Brian W 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

Back
To Top