Customer Reviews for Paper Party House
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

677 reviews

633 Warren Ave   Portland, ME 04103

(207) 956-5551

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8 am - 5 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 4 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021 - 12/26/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021 - 1/2/2022: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(207) 956-5551

633 Warren Ave
Portland, ME 04103

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8 am - 5 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 4 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021 - 12/26/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021 - 1/2/2022: Closed
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RITA M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

George T. 
Rating:
5.0

I recommend.

SAAD A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Cynthia R. 
Rating:
3.0

As we dropped off the trailer after the location was closed, it was dark. We could've used better signage and lighting in the dark lot. Other than that it was great. The young lady I spoke with on the phone was helpful and pleasant.

Tara N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lisa Marie S. 
Rating:
3.0

Business closed. No Uhaul instructions on windows or doors on how to or where to drop off equipment.

GARY WAYNE P. 
Rating:
3.0

Location was remote. Cell phone reception was poor. Truck was parked in a foot of water.

DAVID C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RYAN H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Christine F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Aya A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

corey B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Edward D. 
Rating:
5.0

Trailer was supposed to be at another location but wasn't. Had to go here. They were more professional than the huge uhaul in Portland.

KEITH B. 
Rating:
5.0

Correct the terrible drop-off method. After following instructions precisely (I work in tech) my phone was unable to report its location to UHaul... and the website provides NO other method for drop-off! Ridiculous.

Duff J. 
Rating:
1.0

They changed the agreed upon amount for the truck when we returned it full of gas and clean.

LEE FLOYD S. 
Rating:
5.0

Truck cab was very dirty

DANIEL W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RANDALL S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Shirlene S. 
Rating:
1.0

Terrible customer service. Three Saturdays in a row truck reservation was cancelled, delayed or moved to a different pickup location. Would never use UH again.

Bernard F. 
Rating:
2.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Victoria H. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kevin M. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ALAN L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

LAURENCE M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John C. 
Rating:
1.0

The no contact check in didn't work. It took 3 employees before someone be waited on me. He was very rude didn't speak more than two words to me. They charged me for 1 gallon of gas. Really?? They charged me for $10 insurance I declined my. Truck was dirty and had smoked cigarettes in side door.

Cheryl L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

TIA C. 
Rating:
5.0

The service was excellent from my first phone call through return of the trailer. It was the first time I did not feel pressure from either waiting for service (there was no wait) or dealing with curt and unfriendly workers that I have seen at most if not all other UHaul locations that I have dealt with. The people I dealt with were professional, friendly, helpful, and competent. A pleasant surprise was that I did not have to deal with an online application for the rental which is often confusing, inefficient, and unnecessarily time consuming.

Peter N. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael L. 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly reps. Process was easy. Highly recommend. Will definitely use again.

JANE W. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was great. I do not understand why I had an after hour drop off fee of $20.00!?

Chuck E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Katrina T. 
Rating:
5.0

Nice people. Interesting location

Katie H. 
Rating:
5.0

Have used this location several times now

Jean claude D. 
Rating:
3.0

I was charged for moving blankets but they were not in the truck so I didn't get them. This is the thrid time UHAUL has failed to give me blankets when I do an online order.

Christian P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jay P. 
Rating:
5.0

the truck i wanted was not available for a one-way rental, but there at least 10 trucks of the size I needed on the lot but could be used for local rentals only.

JEFFREYWESCOTT P. 
Rating:
5.0

Appliance dolly I rented had the strap cut shorter would not go around washer and dryer notified agent upon returning do not think he took it for repair

Walter F. 
Rating:
4.0

They did a good job. Above average for sure.

April H. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Christopher M. 
Rating:
3.0

One of the trailer tires was obviously under inflated. Other then that the rental exceeded my expectations. I would rent from them again.

KYLE H. 
Rating:
3.0

We reserved a trailer in Dover NH. 1 hr to pick up before our 35 hour drive from NH to Colorado the reservation was changed to Portland Maine-1 hour north but with weekend traffics 90 minutes-each way. When we called the Dover NH office we were told basically sorry-it happens. This should not happen.

Douglas C. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Daniel C. 
Rating:
3.0

The u-haul app needs to actually work if a customer is going to pick up u-haul truck or drop it off after hours. Not user friendly. Directions need to also be better clarified when picking up the key with the mobile app. I had to call customer service to help me with the lock box. The truck was disgusting and not cleaned inside. With covid going it should be maintained better.

Krystal O. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Eric H. 
Rating:
3.0

The truck smelled like cigarette smoke.

GARRETT S. 
Rating:
1.0

The truck was not available for the time that we scheduled over a week in advance of our move. We were notified of this less than 24 hours before we were supposed to pick it up, and we didn't end up getting a truck until the day after we requested which took significant time (12+ Hours away from our move). We were charged for an appliance dolly and mats that were never put in the truck. This added additional time when we had to go to another Uhaul location to pick up these items.

Zachary S. 
Rating:
4.0

The location and truck were fine but the android app is broken and has many 1-star reviews reporting as such. I could not upload photos on return and if I wasn't with somebody else with an iphone I could use I would have been stuck.

Eugene M. 
Rating:
3.0

I chose the mobile/remote process because I thought it would be easier. It wasn't. Unfortunately the signal wasn't great there, the photos took a long time to upload, and I waited about 10 minutes in a silent chat to be approved. I probably wouldn't go through this method again.

Rich B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Zelda S. 
Rating:
5.0

really I am happy because this office is very nice and the person is friendly and help everyone he did great job thank you so much

AHMED A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bernard R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tracy S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ann G. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Christova R. 
Rating:
5.0

Your online pick up is shit! I went in and it took me 2 min to get the truck

chris G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHARLES S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Nicholas W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Aurie I. 
Rating:
5.0

I arrived early and the staff was very accommodating

SUSAN D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHARLES B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Larry P. 
Rating:
5.0

Really nice people

AMBER R. 
Rating:
1.0

Vehicle was not clean. It smelled like farm animals. Requested equipment was not in vehicle. Could not use phone to pick up the vehicle. Calling customer service took an additional 45 minutes. Key return was not in location indicated on website.

Rodney B. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service, fast and you all love dogs - I'd shop here again! Thanks very much -Susan & Orbit BC

Susan D. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

LISA H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

HARLEY C. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Delbert P. 
Rating:
4.0

What does "clean" mean? Are we talking industrial clean (some dirt okay that will come off; focusing on lack of objects) or are we talking shiny spotless new car clean? I was using the former definition, but wondered about the latter. At no point even prior to entering rhe vehicle did it meet the latter. To be clear; I am perfectly happy with it just being the former. Way too many manual steps for approval that could have been done in advance. There is no reason to make me scan things like my driver's license at the location when it's much easier and gets better photos the first time when it's done at home. I would question if all of that info was really necessary, but I imagine it is. A guide on what to expect when I say I want to find or return my truck would be helpful; it was not clear that both can take 20 minutes each, nor was it clear that both require half a dozen pictures each. Time needs to be budgeted around that, especially when we have the van for a set amount of time

Dylan M. 
Rating:
5.0

Good customer service.

MARK P. 
Rating:
5.0

Just so easy and closer than going to the other location. Saved me a lot of time and money. Thanks

RODNEY M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

STEVEN C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dan W. 
Rating:
3.0

I did make mention of several marks made on the right fender that looked unusual. He said I would not be responsible for that. As it turned out it was a repetitive problem with that particular area of the trailer. On my return, I had a blowout on that tire. The problem was.... The wheel was inappropriate for that trailer. The tire was OK, but the wheel was the wrong offset. When Woody's tire arrived to me after 4 hours of waiting on the side of the road. We worked together on the issue and determined that the trailer had the wrong wheel on it. They came with the same wrong wheel. Not their fault. They were just coming to replace what was already on there. The only way to remedy the situation is that we switch the tire positions. This was better but certainly is not the right fix for longer-term rentals. My time waiting - 4 hours. My time's worth $65/hr. Additionally, I tipped the 2 persons that showed up $20.00 So this rental cost me more in time lost and in rent. I know things happen, but this should have been caught before I rented this. I would appreciate some sort of compensation for this, but not expecting it.

JOHN K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Christopher G. 
Rating:
5.0

One of the best transactions-not just U-Haul l-that I've experienced. Paper Party House and Tim Ellis of New England U-Haul keep up the great work.

David R. 
Rating:
5.0

Just stay friendly like you are

DANIEL P. 
Rating:
1.0

I accidentally left a twin mattress and box in the truck and was charged $100. Contract states nothing about fees.

Stephen K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ARTHUR M. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JONATHON H. 
Rating:
4.0

I rented an appliance dolly, but it was broken and I did not find out that the D rings were missing until after I got it to my house I was moving. It made the move more challenging.

LAWRENCE P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

WALTER S. 
Rating:
2.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CYNTHIA W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MICHAEL J. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MIGUEL M. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

FRANCIS P. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ryan F. 
Rating:
3.0

They were very slow to get me checked in, the van was dirty in the back and the console.

Kirsten W. 
Rating:
4.0

The location great very friendly the trailer however had a tire that kept leaking air. The other U-Haul agents I came in contact were not so nice.

TANYA P. 
Rating:
5.0

The staff was friendly helpful and made the drop off seamless and easy.

Terry W. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Raymond M. 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly and helpful. Overall very easy process

Rhonda S. 
Rating:
4.0

The store was closed on Monday so I just left my trailer out back in their u-haul area

Joseph J. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MICHAEL K. 
Rating:
5.0

The Paper Party store was very helpful and very easy to work with. The woman that assisted us was very knowledgeable, helpful, and friendly. I wish I could recall her name. Everything went smoothly and as expected thanks to her. We had no unexpected fees and no unexpected issues. She set great expectations. I genuinely appreciate all she did in helping us. Thank you.

RICHARD D. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOSEPH J. 
Rating:
5.0

None

DUSUMAN C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ashley E. 
Rating:
4.0

No issues. Quick and easy drop-off for the 4x8 enclosed trailer we rented.

Douglas L. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top