Customer Reviews for JP Tyke Auto Service
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

1,068 reviews

2531 Greensburg Pike   Pittsburgh, PA 15221

(412) 241-8757

Office Hours

  • Mon-Sat: 8 am–7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am–4:30 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 3/31/2024: Closed
  • 5/27/2024: Closed
  • 7/4/2024: Closed
  • 9/2/2024: Closed
  • 11/28/2024: Closed
  • 12/24/2024: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
  • 12/25/2024: Closed
  • 12/31/2024: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
  • 1/1/2025: Closed

Show All Hours

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(412) 241-8757

2531 Greensburg Pike
Pittsburgh, PA 15221

Services at this Location:

Office Hours

  • Mon-Sat: 8 am–7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am–4:30 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 3/31/2024: Closed
  • 5/27/2024: Closed
  • 7/4/2024: Closed
  • 9/2/2024: Closed
  • 11/28/2024: Closed
  • 12/24/2024: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
  • 12/25/2024: Closed
  • 12/31/2024: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
  • 1/1/2025: Closed

Show All Hours

  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Alauna W. 
Rating:
3.0

The brakes were about to go out on the uhaul truck.

Deloris C. 
Rating:
5.0

Easy transaction from start to finish.

Bryan P. 
Rating:
5.0

The cabin smelled, and the truck bed had a lot of dirt. However, the personnel was nice and quickly gave us the vehicle. When we returned it if was a very quick return process.

Calvin S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Pamrla K. 
Rating:
5.0

Awesome customer service!!!!

JAMIE G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jeffrey M. 
Rating:
5.0

Leave tank on full so I don't have to guess how much ( a little over half) is. Other than that, great!

Craig B. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent business to deal with , very professional

JERRY C. 
Rating:
3.0

They treat me very well and politely to be honest. But the only thing I do like that the equipment wasn't clean, he said just returned from a trip and no time to clean it up. I believe him specifically in snow. But something I didn't like

Emran E. 
Rating:
5.0

Fast, friendly service. Not cheap by any means ($1 a mile plus gas plus truck rental fee). Cost about $168 for a 70 mile round trip, including $15 for optional "damage" insurance. Full disclosure: I haven't rented a moving truck for over 10 years so I don't have anything recent to compare it to. Just seemed a little much for a 15 ft. truck.

Michael U. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jane O. 
Rating:
5.0

N/a

Chartheresa P. 
Rating:
3.0

I have not yet received my invoice by email

cityreach C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DIANE P. 
Rating:
5.0

They always do a good job.

Tamara M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

FEBRY F. 
Rating:
5.0

Very helpful and made sure everything was taken care of

Brenda H. 
Rating:
5.0

Very nice customer service

THERESA J. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing! Everyone was so kind!!!

Keea D. 
Rating:
5.0

thank you

Mary E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

VICKI M. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing everything was great

ANNETTE K. 
Rating:
5.0

I've rented a lot of uHauls over the years, and the folks at JP Tyke Auto Service are the best. Super easy to work with and pleasant to be around.

BRYANT G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brandi B. 
Rating:
4.0

Nothing ,I seen. Gents are running this service very well.

Gary S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sam O. 
Rating:
2.0

Please be more diligent with inputting the correct mileage because if it's wrong then your customers will be charged for miles they did not drive. Thankfully i took pictures of my start and end mileage as proof or else i would've been robbed for $120 that they overcharged me. Frustrating. I thought going in the store would be easier than the self service on the app but next time i will only be using the online service so that i don't run into this issue. Staff was friendly overall. Also, the pricing here is $0.99 per mile and other locations are cheaper so i would not recommend.

Sarah T. 
Rating:
2.0

The brakes needs to be looked at they made a awfull grinding noise , a red light was broken on top of truck , there were a few water bottles half filled in door compartment, and we only used truck for 2 12 hours and put total of 16 miles on it they charged us for 25 miles 😡 pick up was at 10:21 dropped off at 12:30 on receipt said drop off was 4:15. Don't understand Why information was totally wrong on mileage and total time of use of truck .also when we pick up truck they marked truck was half tank and broken light was not documented, Truck had full tank according to gas gauge, We did fill total of 4.788 gallons to rerturn it to full tank. Was very disappointed

Sandra F. 
Rating:
1.0

The truck was discussing and it broke down wouldn't start and over charged me

Candia B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CLARENCE S. 
Rating:
5.0

All was good.

Thomas D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

George S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dalena S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Goddess Duprene J. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service! Tyke's Auto Service is right next door to our new condo.

Robert H. 
Rating:
5.0

The service light on the dashboard came on during our use of the van.

Robert H. 
Rating:
5.0

Have dollies and tie-down straps available

MARK B. 
Rating:
5.0

Engine

Mary-Elizabeth B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ronald R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Andrew C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Justine S. 
Rating:
3.0

I would recommend for information to be transferred to the online in time as I tried to check in from my phone and could not. I had to call the u-haul number for assistance. And to place keys in the lock box as they were not and I had to wait for someone to come open the store for me to receive. Also to wipe down the inside the steering wheel was dirty and sticky the door handle and turn signals as well.

Latisha M. 
Rating:
1.0

You can read my Google review for the full story, but abridged version is that when i returned the guy working did a walkaround WITHOUT ME and then came back claiming damages were done and that i HAD to be responsible "since I didn't purchase their insurance," and also refused to provide an invoice or receipt and check the vehicle in. Very degrading and insulting, repeatedly sneering and demanding i "be honest," as if he had proof that i did the damage he claims and which he probably did himself to scam me out of money. talking about how well I didn't have pictures, I didn't bring my checkout papers with me when i brought the vehicle back in, thus supposedly that guaranteed that I'm at fault. yet silent when i pointed out he didn't have photos or records either, despite telling me at checkout that they were aware of pre-existing damage that i wasn't responsible for. Uhaul should cease licensing their business to such an unscrupulous service station.

JASON B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KAREN D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Saumya S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ece U. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Blane J. 
Rating:
4.0

I had to wait an extra hour to get my truck despite having a reservation. Otherwise it was a good experience, the staff was friendly and professional.

Dravyansh S. 
Rating:
4.0

Honestly JP Tyke was great however the Uhaul truck itself kind of failed, the brake line went and I had to have the Uhaul towed everywhere which slowed us down 3 to 4 hours.

Niyimah T. 
Rating:
5.0

Smooth transaction, easy pickup. Will definitely go back

Anthony V. 
Rating:
5.0

Great great of professionals.

Steven T. 
Rating:
5.0

everything was great

LAVONNE C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dino N. 
Rating:
5.0

Incredibly easy. Very helpful service.

phillip M. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service!

Olivia K. 
Rating:
5.0

The employees at Tyke's are excellent to deal with , from making your reservation to picking up your rental. When you return your rental, the employees are as friendly as when you picked up your rental. I will deal with Tyke's whenever I need a U-Haul.

ROBERT M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

OLUDUNMOLA A. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Carol B. 
Rating:
3.0

I have rented from Uhaul many times, the truck I received was awful, the worst I have ever received. The truck had A LOT of damage, didn't idle well, the pad lock didn't work and the truck was not clean on the outside. The biggest issue was that it was raining and the truck's cargo box leaked badly, causing my things to get wet.

Robert D. 
Rating:
3.0

Just seem the price gets steep when you get sent to a different location further away then we're you live

Jerome W. 
Rating:
5.0

I had a very great experience at this location. It was in and out and I will definitely visit again.

marcelyss M. 
Rating:
5.0

Vehicles should come with some amount of included miles.

James S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kim M. 
Rating:
4.0

When you sign up for moving help via UHaul, you cannot select a time. That is a huge downfall.

Kim J. 
Rating:
1.0

Ask the customer when they are booking online if they want to select In Town or One Way. Without doing that, it becomes deceiving due to the vast amount of services and flexibility offered.

CAMERON H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sarah L. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service location

Michael H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SARAH B. 
Rating:
5.0

Tykes is the best. Great people.

George F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Rachel W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Clayton S. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service

MICHELE W. 
Rating:
4.0

Equipment was in poor condition. Multiple tie down rails were broken and the check engine light came on after only a few miles of driving. Interior was clean

nick N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brendan P. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing,,,great experience!

Stephanie T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tina P. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kyle W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lee M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOSEPHINE W. 
Rating:
4.0

Truck did not feel like it had much power at times...Washer fluid dispense system and radio did not work at first. Maybe due to weather. Maybe pre start vehicle in cold weather next time prior to arrival.

dinieka G. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brandon F. 
Rating:
3.0

very small dealer, customer service a little weak!!?? small waiting area , waiting along with lottery customers, customers in for car repairs, gas pump customers, very hectic there on a sat morning, i wont go back there, late afternoon employees a little concerning to me, they seemed like very unhappy pyoung men

Robert G. 
Rating:
4.0

The truck was just average it only had 1/4 tank of gas and broke down on us

JOANNE J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lamont G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert D. 
Rating:
4.0

Communication

KEITH J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Samantha R. 
Rating:
5.0

Very nice people

JOSEPH S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Denise H. 
Rating:
5.0

Great experience with Tykes. Will use the again.

George F. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

paul B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Eric M. 
Rating:
5.0

The guy was very nice. Got us right in, and out. Rented truck on short notice, and they were very accommodating. Will use again when needed.

Sandy K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Richard H. 
Rating:
5.0

Location is perfect for local hauling needs. They are very courteous and accommodating. Have used them before and will use them again.

rOCCO F. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Cassidy R. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steve C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kimberly B. 
Rating:
4.0

When I arrived the attendant said that I did not have a reservation and. I then told him what I had rented and he said they did not have a cargo van, so I was really confused. But end the end the attendant went above and beyond to correct the problem. I always rent from this site and has never had a problem, but I would recommend someone to them.

LAVONNE C. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top