Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage of Fairgrounds

2,107 reviews

3028 Bessemer Rd   Birmingham, AL 35208
(5 Points W Ensley)

(205) 785-1524

Location Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021: 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • 12/25/2021: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(205) 785-1524

3028 Bessemer Rd
Birmingham, AL 35208
(5 Points W Ensley)

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021: 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • 12/25/2021: Closed
  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ALESHIA L. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Adonis M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Courtney F. 
Rating:
5.0

Thanks for the free month! Awesome....

SANDRA L.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

STARLETT W. 
Rating:
5.0

I Had A Good Experience with U-Haul

Lakisha A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MARVIN P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RENE S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CAROLYN H. 
Rating:
2.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ziya G. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing. It was great

SHEDRIA P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GWENDOLYN J. 
Rating:
5.0

Both ladies, the one that checked me in around 1 PM and the lady I returned the vehicle to around 6 pm were fantastic. Very courteous, funny, and delightful. This was a very pleasurable experience. Thank you!

WALTER L. 
Rating:
1.0

Couldn't find employees, the tpms light was on, the rental needed an oil change, the truck was dirty, there's no lock box for key drop off, get this location some help ASAP. I'm pretty sure there's one employee there running everything themselves with no help.

Cordell M. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MARSHA H. 
Rating:
3.0

Stop lieing worst move ever

JASON B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ERIC W. 
Rating:
3.0

Stop charging so much for mileage charge 1 flat rate

PHADISHIA L. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ruby C.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JEROME B. 
Rating:
2.0

Monica attitude isn't friendly at all.. My experience was very poor

Aleshia L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Rachel D. 
Rating:
5.0

She was nice the manager

Anthony P.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

I don't see that uhaul needs any improvements. Thanks for providing us with the friendly service

CARLOS S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOSEPH F. 
Rating:
5.0

The customer service tech was very nice,and she has a sweet sense of humor ☺️. She did an awesome job!!!

PAMELA P. 
Rating:
4.0

Only one person working on Sunday leaving to longer than expected wait time.

ROBERT C. 
Rating:
1.0

I wouldn't recommend Uhaul to anyone. I made a reservation to pick up a uhaul. Someone called me the day before and change my Uhaul location to one 30 minutes out the way. Very unprofessional and lack customer service. I will use another business to rent from in the future.

Whittney T. 
Rating:
5.0

The experience that I had was pretty good. Did not have a long waiting time picking up or returning the truck. The employee was efficient and courteous.

Charlie A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jeffrey R. 
Rating:
5.0

Always friendly and was always greeted with a smile.

Davisha D.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RACHEL B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

TYSHIANA B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MARGIE N. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sherron D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ERIN I. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

NANCY H. 
Rating:
5.0

Thank You

Benjamin A. 
Rating:
5.0

The sales person was nice and funny trying to wake everyone up that morning

MARILYN W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Rosalyn M. 
Rating:
2.0

They charged my credit card for the amount I was told on the day I returned the truck and then they charged me an extra $20 for something. I never received a receipt for either.

ROBERT M. 
Rating:
1.0

The truck was in poor condition and very old (2009). I felt very unsafe driving it and overcharged. I would recommend everyone stay away from U-Haul I'd they don't care enough to update their trucks. Please fix the brakes and there's too much slack in the steering.

Cheryl J. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JADEN A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Luther T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ROSE R. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RONNIE P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KARLA E. 
Rating:
4.0

Our uhual was set to be picked up in Columbiana, al. The day before pick up it was changed to Leeds. When arriving to Leeds we were told our uhual was not there and at our original location, but was not. It was not at Bessemer either but they ended up giving us a truck.

DALTON B. 
Rating:
5.0

The person that assisted was pleasant.

JEWANDA W. 
Rating:
4.0

There was no fluid in the brake reservoir.

THOMAS T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kellee P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

TARKESHIA B. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

LINDA K. 
Rating:
3.0

Your clerks are not customer service friendly. They need to learn how to speak with individuals in a more professional manner.

Tacqua C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jason H. 
Rating:
1.0

I kept my end of the contract, though after coming in contact with a rude attendant upon returning the equipment that was rented, I was charged twice for services, and the mileage rate was also incorrect. Now, I have been told that it will take Uhaul 2 to 3 days to process my refund; thereafter, my bank will take an additional 3 to 5 days to deposit my money back into my account. It took 10+ minutes for my call to be answered to dispute the bill and I am on the phone now waiting for another customer service department of Uhaul to explain the situation again to get the refund process started by tomorrow (Monday). The system says this will take 14 minutes - in addition to the time I have already been on the phone waiting. The process went downhill considerably after the initial rental transaction.

Latanya W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jayla B. 
Rating:
4.0

Provide sanitizing wipes or spray.

Amy J. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ETHEL W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jameka W. 
Rating:
3.0

The drop off key box was not orange and hard to find at Bessemer/Fair Park location in Birmingham, AL. We were looking everywhere for it.

Phylicia M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BRENDA D. 
Rating:
5.0

9/4/21 for 9/1/21-Please explain to any client / or customer , why it may seem like we are being twice for gas . 1.) You have to fill the gas back to it' original level . Then , 2). Pay $ .59 / more a mile . Keep up the GREAT WORK - 9/1/21 Day & Night shift Managers . 9/1/21' Day shift' Manager = EXCELLENT ! & Night shift ' Manager Monica = EXCELLENT ! Thanx FAIRGROUND UHAUL for my day & Thanx Uhaul for allowing me to rent 1 of your vehicles ..

CATHY N. 
Rating:
3.0

The female that I guess was truck attendant was EH. But my representative was nice

Tiffany C. 
Rating:
5.0

It was good

QUILICI H. 
Rating:
5.0

The last time I got just the right size Van for my needs. Sometimes I would prefer a smaller van in replace of a truck. I can understand why that location don't like trucks but a smaller van would be nice sometimes.

JOHNNY D. 
Rating:
4.0

We were incorrectly blamed for damage to the truck. Someone propped up cardboard in a hole and the employee that did the walk around of the truck did not see it. Nor did I because of the awkward location. The damage was not found until after we returned with the truck. Not our fault. Staff should have been more thorough. Other than that, it was great.

Edward F. 
Rating:
5.0

The lady who rented to me was very nice

ERIC L. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was great. Monica Murphy was a big help. I was in and out in 5 minutes

Leslie W. 
Rating:
5.0

Uhaul charged me for gas and I put gas back into truck and I would like a refund put back on my card please thanks 2055206906 Sharon Evans

SHARON E. 
Rating:
5.0

I can't remember the name of the lady behind the counter but she was very kind and helpful. I would come back to this location just to deal with her. Breath of fresh air compared to what I'm used too when dealing with Uhaul.

TRENTON G. 
Rating:
5.0

Moving the after hrs drop box by the door would make it more accessible

Matteus R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

shawn C. 
Rating:
5.0

Stay as you are.

Gwendolyn H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Monique T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Verna B. 
Rating:
5.0

Corey was very friendly and helpful with scheduling the truck! Thank you!

Charles C. 
Rating:
4.0

Good service.

GERALDINE B. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

WILSON D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ken C. 
Rating:
2.0

Wasn't a great experience. I have rented several uhauls in the past, but this one wasn't a great a experience. The location was far away, but I expected that as the staff was nice enough to squeeze us in on a busy weekend. The uhaul drove really bad, misfired a lot and would barely do 60 mph on the interstate. Upon arriving to my neighborhood the truck gave off a loud pop sound and a strong smell of sulfur chocked us out in the cab. I barely made it to my residence. Then when the maintenance crew came to get the truck this information was never passed on to the rental location, and they called me several times asking where the truck was. I believe this issue has been sorted out, I just will avoid this location if their trucks are generally in this condition. The maintenance crew was extremely helpful, professional, patient and reassuring.

SIDNEY W. 
Rating:
3.0

Wash and check the vehicles. The van was dirty and had some type of all on the gas pedal

ANGEL B. 
Rating:
4.0

When doing the survey to check truck.. I received a error message. The gas meter was not on half full like stated and the hand truck was on in the truck. I know things can get a little busy but these things need to be checked

DAWN M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MARTHA F. 
Rating:
1.0

Uhaul should be ashamed of the service that was provided here. I was made to drive 15 miles out of the way 2 times in order to pick up a truck that looked like it had been driven through dust storms forever without ever having been washed. There was no available service agents to compensate or offset the fact that my original booking was set for a place >1 mile from where I needed to be, therefore causing me to drive about 50 miles in excess of why I needed the truck to rent. Your service is HORRIBLE and I will jog only strongly advocate against you to anyone who mentions your company, but I will also NEVER purchase any of your products again, even if I should only need a cardboard box. I will be disputing any additional charges added to my account with my credit card company. Thanks for the inconvenience and showing just how much your company could care less about its customers and instead focus on only getting to take their money.

Jonathan T. 
Rating:
1.0

I reserved a truck 3 times and the first two were double booked causing me to drive an hour and a half one way out of my way to rent the trucks and then have to drive back home without a truck.

Jarred F. 
Rating:
5.0

Monica was very helpful at the location that I was sent to! But I have to complain about the company in general. First I was sent to a location further away than the first 2 locations that they had scheduled for me to go to and then when I got there 15 minutes ahead of my appointment time I was told there were no trucks. After over an hour of waiting someone finally brings in a truck. I was patient and it worked out but Uhaul shouldn't let people make reservations for a rental if the dont have the trucks to do it.

Heather D. 
Rating:
4.0

Van was not cleaned up adequately in my opinion. However, the convenient location and competent staff was a plus.

Anre F. 
Rating:
3.0

This was not my choice location. This location added 30 miles round trip to my trip. Which put me over on miles expected.

Mickie T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ROSHIMA W. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

LEONIDAS S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

STEFANO D. 
Rating:
4.0

N/A

Jerry J. 
Rating:
4.0

The contact less pick up wasn't operating properly, but other than that little hiccup things went well.

Sherrel H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

TIFFANY P. 
Rating:
1.0

My uhal location was changed at the last minute which made me go further than my location distance I originally had. Then when I picked up my uhal the storage place had closed due to my time getting pushed back. I was never able to get my stuff then when I returned back to uhal I asked for a refund and they still charged me for Milage used.

Olivia C. 
Rating:
1.0

The truck should never be rented to anyone it is in dangerous mechanical condition

DEMARCUS G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John D. 
Rating:
2.0

Not a clear drop box location and instructions communication i called the number for the drop off after being on hold then talking to someone the location still called to tell me was going to charge me

Kelly N. 
Rating:
4.0

The location opened up 45 minutes late! Otherwise the online experience was excellent.

Jhamall W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Seyedabdollah M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Paula B. 
Rating:
3.0

Clean and sanitize trucks after each customer

Cassandra S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ERIC G.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

veronica e.  |  First Impressions 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Self-Storage Icon
    Self-Storage

    We have the most coverage in North America!

  • U-Box Container Icon
    U-Box® Containers

    We ship across town or accross the world!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

  • Trailer Hitch Icon
    Trailer Hitches

    U-Haul is North America's #1 hitch installer!

  • Propane Icon
    Propane

    Propane service delivered straight to your door!

Back
To Top