Customer Reviews for South Beach Rentals
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

1,821 reviews

65 SE 62nd St   South Beach, OR 97366

(541) 867-7262

Office Hours

  • Monday:
    9 am - 11 am / 12 pm - 4 pm
  • Tuesday:
    Closed
  • Wednesday - Friday:
    9 am - 11 am / 12 pm - 4 pm
  • Saturday:
    10 am–2 pm
  • Sunday:
    Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 5/19/2024: Closed
  • 5/20/2024: Closed
  • 5/21/2024: Closed
  • 5/22/2024: Closed
  • 5/23/2024: Closed
  • 5/24/2024: Closed
  • 5/25/2024: Closed
  • 5/26/2024: Closed
  • 5/27/2024: Closed
  • 5/28/2024: Closed
  • 5/29/2024: Closed
  • 5/30/2024: Closed
  • 5/31/2024: Closed

Show All Hours

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(541) 867-7262

65 SE 62nd St
South Beach, OR 97366

Services at this Location:

Office Hours

  • Monday:
    9 am - 11 am / 12 pm - 4 pm
  • Tuesday:
    Closed
  • Wednesday - Friday:
    9 am - 11 am / 12 pm - 4 pm
  • Saturday:
    10 am–2 pm
  • Sunday:
    Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 5/19/2024: Closed
  • 5/20/2024: Closed
  • 5/21/2024: Closed
  • 5/22/2024: Closed
  • 5/23/2024: Closed
  • 5/24/2024: Closed
  • 5/25/2024: Closed
  • 5/26/2024: Closed
  • 5/27/2024: Closed
  • 5/28/2024: Closed
  • 5/29/2024: Closed
  • 5/30/2024: Closed
  • 5/31/2024: Closed

Show All Hours

  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
4.0

No service on phone- check in process hard.

Shayna S 
Rating:
1.0

You overcharged me. You charged me for extra days when I took it back 2 days early plus you charged me for gas that I have receipts from my gas card after I figured my totals you overcharged me $ 259.00 shall I post my receipts to prove it.

tammy s 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael M 
Rating:
2.0

I put gas back in the vehicle after driving it, and still got charged a fuel fee. Not happy about this.

Michael B 
Rating:
4.0

Get some lights in the parking lot. After sunset it was black and I had to use my phone flashlight to see and find the key drop box . The area is not paved and hazardous at night.

laura b 
Rating:
1.0

Trick was not clean and it smelled like cigarettes smoke and there was old food on the floor of the truck

Patrick O 
Rating:
2.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

STEVE H 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steve S 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent service was on time and fast, truck was clean and already near exit, no paper work just all online. It was my second time I used this company and I like how they communicate with customers.

Liliya T 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

brigitta b 
Rating:
3.0

I was not told they were closed on Tuesday. The folks in adjoining business were helpful in my return of the trailer.

ron t 
Rating:
2.0

Train employees on proper respect for customers. ie: watch the use of foul language

David H 
Rating:
2.0

The facilities are old and look well used and poorly maintained. Also, I was unable to use the cellphone app when I returned the rental van on Sunday morning, when the facility was unmanned, because the app could not determine my location. This seems odd to me because the U-Haul facility in South Beach, Oregon is quite close to a cell tower. I had no trouble getting a cellphone signal at the facility, but the U-Haul app could not find my cellphone.

David S 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Glenn D 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gayle M 
Rating:
5.0

Hooked up easy.

Brendan H 
Rating:
3.0

Didn't get emailed the receipt of how much it all was.

Shawna R 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Miguel E 
Rating:
5.0

Cody is very professional and personable. A pleasure to work with.

Robert R 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

john w 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brian B 
Rating:
3.0

It has been difficult to contact responsible personnel at this location. Equipment pick-up went well and trailer performed well and was in reasonably good condition. Software to accomplish an off-hours drop-off was tedious and could never confirm location of drop-off.

Timothy M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brenda M 
Rating:
3.0

This is the only option I had in Newport. No customer service on site. I would only recommend it if I had to.

Frederick M 
Rating:
1.0

I was overcharged by double and Uhaul would not resolve the matter. I have not received any communications in over a week. I would be very careful of your money and try another provider.

Eric C 
Rating:
5.0

Great location. Really enjoyed the self-service after hours drop off.

Nate U 
Rating:
4.0

I wish that you had a secure place to leave vehicles overnight.

leslie c 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Don S 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

stephanie d 
Rating:
5.0

Very helpful!!!!

REGINA C 
Rating:
3.0

The trailer towed very nice. It was hard to secure down onto the ball because the nut was rusted.

Rochelle J 
Rating:
2.0

They were very short on customer service as well. I would highly suggest that U-Haul invest in how customer service works. Both locations, failed big time in customer service. It must be incredibly hard to find great employees these days. On the other hand, I felt that the U -Haul call center, was a 10 in customer service, and was extremely happy with the woman that I talked with 👍👏

Jeff S 
Rating:
5.0

Self-serve return using the phone would not connect. It kept timing out at the rental pick up location. After 30 minutes of trying with no success all I could do was drop the keys and contract in a drop box.

Don S 
Rating:
2.0

Be attentive n listen to your customers and acknowledge the rental agreement n help them unhook the equipment

Maureen V 
Rating:
1.0

Employee was very rude and unpleasant. Encouraged me to go to different location. Other location sent me back to south beach to deal with this angry person. This location used to have a very nice person (although over worked).

Scott B 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lee W 
Rating:
5.0

Kind. Helpful. Efficient. Knowledgeable. Helped me with the Technology. Good people.

Angeline A 
Rating:
3.0

It's a shame there are staffing shortages everywhere. Phones don't get answered, and now check-in and return are mostly done via text on the phone. Dealing with trying to open links and fill in forms on the phone, or returning the truck being asked to take a picture of the gas and mileage when the app itself sucks and I couldn't even figure out HOW to upload a photo. Dealing with apps and links versus human beings was very annoying. Thankfully I rarely have to rent a U-Haul because the experience was anything but fun. This review does NOT pertain to the U-Haul in South Beach, OR but U-Haul in general. The gal helping me in South Beach was very patient and sweet - a very overworked due to staffing issues.

Patricia L 
Rating:
5.0

Great service! In and out was quick. Definitely will use again.

Morgan G 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jack G 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Shannon R 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

gordon p 
Rating:
5.0

No issues

Greg M 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mark R 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent service!

Nathan W 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert P 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Toni R 
Rating:
5.0

Easy to hook up, drive and load, will rent one again, price for rental was good too, very reasonable!

SHIRLEE W 
Rating:
3.0

Staff needs more training

Robert R 
Rating:
3.0

The person who hooked up the trailer to my vehicle did not tighten the hitch. The trailer came off the hitch while driving. Fortunately I was able to pull over without damage to my vehicle. The electric connection was broken and had to be replaced. Persons from Uhaul responded and hooked the trailer back up. It was double checked and there was no further problem after that. The person that hooked up my trailer originally needs to make sure everything is hooked up properly.

John M 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing you guys are awesome the way you are. Thanks for being such real and good people.

Leonard P 
Rating:
4.0

The online ordering system overwrote my reservation twice and added charges for services I had not requested which I could not then remove, and my original order was not saved in my account! However, the rep at South Beach did everything possible to help me resolve the issues that were created by the software and I commend her. Uhaul needs to fix/improve its online systems.

SUSAN M 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John R 
Rating:
2.0

Make the u haul employee do some work. Why does the customer have to take a pic upload to their phone etc. that’s weak. And why wasn’t the truck filled w gas instead of being 1/4 full?

David A 
Rating:
3.0

N/A

Robert D 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

william R 
Rating:
1.0

The gentleman that did our purchase smelled like alcohol and was slurring his words. We heard all about his family situation and was inappropriate. The truck was dead, the uhaul center didn’t have jump cables, or a jump pack. We had to use our own vehicle to jump the uhaul truck.

EVAN P 
Rating:
5.0

The associate at the location was very professional and friendly. He made the rental process very easy to complete.

Gary W 
Rating:
2.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brian G 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mandy H 
Rating:
5.0

Patricia was excellent.

Lorin L 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Rochelle J 
Rating:
1.0

The manager likes to argue with customers the uhaul had a cracked Winslet it leaked water all over my things he rented the 10ft truck without making sure it was safe

Anita L 
Rating:
5.0

The gentleman who was working that morning was very professional & helpful making for a quick pick up.

Monica D 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Louis R 
Rating:
3.0

Will - the U-Haul employee did not show up at 9 AM and I had to use my phone to enter my license etc. The app kept failing and it was a really bad user experience. My first location did not work and I had to go 6 extra miles to pick the van, resulting in an additional 2 mile charge on my bill.

Rafael M 
Rating:
3.0

N/A

Parker P 
Rating:
3.0

I put about 7 miles on the truck and when I went to top off gas tank I had to put 6 gallons in the tank to fill it. Obviously the last renter did not fill up the truck.

CHRIS F 
Rating:
3.0

I reserved for $19.99 plus $10 for insurance, so $30. My credit card was charged $53.75 two times for a one-hour 6 mile rental and I put 2 gallons of gas in. Why have an inline reservation system if you are just going to bait and switch the customer?

Robert H 
Rating:
1.0

Took an hour and a half to rent truck. Was told to use my phone to reserve truck by the associate. When I did get a truck, the check engine light was on and stayed on. Additionally, the hood was not latched and would have flown open on the highway more than likely causing an accident. I was given the keys to another truck and asked for a new contract and was told it was emailed to me. I found out when I tried to return the truck it was not. The online forms would not work for me and were beyond frustrating. I have ten pictures taken of my driver's license none of which the application would accept and kept telling me a more recent photo was needed. Since all the pictures were taken by the application, it was a major issue. The return process was equally a mess with the instructions inside the return box guaranteed to fail.

MARCIA N 
Rating:
3.0

I did not have any negative issues, so next customers should have the same positive results.

Stephen B 
Rating:
2.0

Pick up time was 7 am had to do on line took 2hrs was a total night mare

Edward B 
Rating:
5.0

Happy Holidays!

LILIYA T 
Rating:
5.0

At pick up our Uhaul clerk, Amanda, went well beyond her hob description to help us. I can't say enough about how grateful I am for her extra service. Drop off was smooth and again a friendly face was there to make sure everything went as planned.

Erick A 
Rating:
2.0

Due to glitches in UHaul’s reservation, check in, and registration before keys, this computer-literate person had three volunteer moving assistants (including the truck driver) waiting for almost 1 1/2 hours for me to get the truck released to us. In bright sunlight it was hard to see my phone screen as we took pics of drivers licenses (why do you have us input the number and related info, then you scan the ID from which all those spaces on the form could be filled in?) I entered my info as renter and that of the driver then contact info on someone who could verify us and pics of both of us and the front and back of our driver licenses. Finally I was sent to find the truck which we found across the highway (hint: you are not looking for the vehicle’s license plate, rather a number printed on the back side of the truck.) To get the keys, it asks for another pic ( they want to see the face of the driver). I unfortunately took a pic of myself, received a message to get human help, which was not available as this location has recently passed into the management of the glass blowing shop; their staff haven’t been trained. I then noticed the screen had changed to Oops! You need to start over because you either timed out or took a pic of the wrong person, or some other heinous sin. I was hoping I didn’t really need to start from scratch, so left a request for callback assistance. In the meantime my driver found a phone contact number which I called. She told me I had to totally start over. Then the callback rang and he offered to transfer me to someone who could help (transferred me and gave me the number in case we got cut off which did happen. I phoned it back and noticed it matches the number of the callbacks. Finally I got a guy who told me I needed to start partway back, taking a selfie, rephotographing the driver’s ID, providing another contact name and number, etc. I had to read releases and liability statements and sign off. And, yet, another sign off. After all this I was given the combo to a mailbox where I got the key. At the truck I had to inspect and take pics of the exterior and interior, take and upload a pic of the ding we spotted, record the odometer setting and gas gauge then take a pic of both. All this before we could pull out. We ran out of daylight on what we thought was going to be a simple move-less than 50 mile round trip. I was too late to move items into my storage unit so had to unpack them into my new residence to move later. The self-check-in is needlessly complicated. When I reserved the truck yesterday it suggested that I could save ten minutes by completing the documents then -but I didn’t have the driver and his license with me. 1 1/2 hours is very different than ten minutes. I rented a bigger UHaul truck three months ago and we had none of this hassle. If this is the new norm, I anticipate a loss of customers.

Robert Y 
Rating:
2.0

Had exhaust leak, engine noise, though it was alternator, check engine was on, drove two days through snow and ice as ice built up on truck noise got louder, when in good driving conditions it continued, performance dropped and brakes affected noise, steering got stiff, I decided to go to next U-Haul lot, and called roadside, maintenance company showed up and put oil in pump and noise went away, his comment was it had been leaking for a long time, it cost me a couple of tanks of gas on my trip across the country and was a lot of driving stress wondering if it was going to leave me on the side of road in middle of the night when it was extremely cold, maintenance guy was prompt and got me back on the road quickly, performance went back to normal and made it home safely thanks for that, Mr Hughley

Thomas H 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Thomas E 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Cliff S 
Rating:
3.0

I believe I was charged twice for the service..........

Bonnie I 
Rating:
5.0

Only thing I’m upset about is that I reserved for four days and brought it back a day early and they didn’t reimburse for the extra day. They charged the whole four days. Not fair at all.

Amanda C 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lisa D 
Rating:
3.0

No

joel m 
Rating:
1.0

I was originally scheduled/reserved to PICK UP a truck in this location. When I arrived at the location there were not any trucks available. I had to go to another location 10 miles out of the way. However I was told I could return the truck to this location. When I dropped off the truck I was told I would receive and email confirmation of the reservation being returned. I never received the any email.

timothy k 
Rating:
5.0

Fast service with great customer service

Tom L 
Rating:
2.0

Would recommend since they have a lot of equipmnet but would warn that it's hard to find anybody to work with at the South Beach facility either by phone or in person. They were there when I'd scheduled the tailer pickup and helpful but that's the only time there was a sign of life. Even thopugh I retured the trailer within their posted working hours there was nobody to receive it. Being closed on Wednesday isn't handy either, particularly since that's when the UBox peopled deliver.

Fred J 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert H 
Rating:
1.0

The van smelt like manure, had thousands of fruit flies and the attendant didn’t really care about customer service. I also think I got charge for blankets I never got, but the receipt site wasn’t working. Not a great experience.

Robert A 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kristen M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GREGORY L 
Rating:
5.0

Great

Abdoulaye T 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Nigel H 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

pamalia n 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

pamalia n 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Randy N 
Rating:
3.0

Picking up with the online pickup was very difficult this time. We had to call customer service for help as we had to prove who we were before proceeding. This by far was the most difficult pick up yet. The person on the phone was very helpful and great to work with.

CHRISTOPHER S 
Rating:
3.0

Though Anthony (I think) was clearly very busy running two businesses and told me that it would be 15-20 minutes before he could help me, He did well and we had the trailer coupled up to our truck and were on our way quickly.

robert p 
Rating:
5.0

I haul rep was friendly and helpful

daniel k 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent customer service!

Nigel H 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GREGORY M 
Rating:
5.0

Great system, the whole experience with support was fantastic.

William P 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

Back
To Top