Customer Reviews for Scammans Home & Garden
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

181 reviews

57 Portsmouth Ave   Stratham, NH 03885

(603) 772-2018

Location Hours

  • Mon-Sat: 8:30 am - 5 pm
  • Sun: 9:30 am - 5 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/10/2021 - 12/12/2021: Closed
  • 12/24/2021 - 12/26/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021 - 1/1/2022: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(603) 772-2018

57 Portsmouth Ave
Stratham, NH 03885

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Sat: 8:30 am - 5 pm
  • Sun: 9:30 am - 5 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/10/2021 - 12/12/2021: Closed
  • 12/24/2021 - 12/26/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021 - 1/1/2022: Closed
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Easy going folks, great experience. Definitely recommend this location

John E. 
Rating:
1.0

Absolutely the worst experience

GIA D. 
Rating:
5.0

Prompt assistance, Down to earth service!!

ALISON C. 
Rating:
5.0

This rental worked out VERY well for us. The location could not have been more convenient and the rental process was well-run & painless.

Kurt G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jeffrey M. 
Rating:
5.0

N /A

CATHY D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GREG B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

LOUIS D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Christopher T. 
Rating:
5.0

My drop off Experience was so much better I only had to wait 5 minutes for someone to check my truck and check me out. I would have picked up here if I knew how amazing the service was. Great Job uhaul stratham

Sarah C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brian A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Anne T. 
Rating:
5.0

Quick and easy. Don't change a thing.

Dan M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Chris B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Orris S. 
Rating:
5.0

also ordered help; also ordered a one-way truck from Conway; no phone numbers to call, or cancel

Whitney B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mark O. 
Rating:
5.0

Great experience. I will certainly pick up from there again! Thanks to everyone who made this so easy.

Christos K. 
Rating:
4.0

Given it was a crazy weekend for rentals and it was a fast turnover, I can look past it but the windshield was filthy on the inside. The people here were very helpful and friendly. The truck I got was exceptional! Amazing how a 26' truck can ride like a luxury SUV. And so quiet when not climbing a hill. Very happy with the truck.

Stephen L. 
Rating:
5.0

The folks at Scammon's were very helpful.

Roy B. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing. The whole experience was tremendous

Kevin K. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RENEE W. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

REBEKAH L. 
Rating:
5.0

The guy was knowledgeable and friendly.

STEPHEN S W. 
Rating:
5.0

Great addition to the Uhaul network.

Thomas L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Matt G. 
Rating:
5.0

My experience was wonderful I called on the morning I was hoping to get a truck and they were able to help me. Super kind and friendly and I'll definitely do business again. I think it would be a great service to local people to maybe give up to 25-50 miles free. I know for me I only went 34 miles, had to pay $26 to add the 10 gallons of fuel I used and then had to pay .89/mile.

Melissa A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jay L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

NICOLE B. 
Rating:
5.0

The process and paperwork are time-consuming. Try to streamline it all. The pick-pick of inspecting and marking tiny blemishes in the bodywork is ridiculous, especially since none but the worst will ever be repaired, or maybe not then. It is obviously a means to charge a few more dollars with no intention to do anything.

John F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Laura L. 
Rating:
5.0

I was very impressed with everyone at Scamman's. They were very helpful and made the return very easy.

Stephen O. 
Rating:
5.0

Would not recommend Uhaul customer service or lack of it.

Krista B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Karen Gunter S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ester S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Marc B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MARK D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BILL B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RICHARD D. 
Rating:
3.0

Uhaul after hours drop off system via the photo was a nuisance especially after a long day of driving around to accommodate uhauls change in my reservation.

James Ryan S. 
Rating:
3.0

Ensure lights work appropriately. The back of the trailer light wasn't working and directions don't result in it's fix. Also I left the truck with more fuel than I started and I got charged for fuel $8 of fuel. I will need to back track with customer service now and get a refund for that as I was in a rush dropping off and once I found the button to say the bills incorrect I had already accepted. My bad there.

Jared B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Matthew L. 
Rating:
5.0

Great job!

BILL P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GLENN H. 
Rating:
5.0

Did an after hours drop off. They were extremely accommodating and it was clear where to place the trailer. Looks like a really nice garden center. Looking forward to going back!

Moss C. 
Rating:
5.0

Great experience all around. Yes, I'd rent again if I needed a moving van. Thanks!

David B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Paul T. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Deb G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JACQUELINE C. 
Rating:
1.0

I spent over 25 minutes trying to access my key via the rusty old pad lock from the 1940's. Almost gave up and no one to call or get help from. I did not notice a scratch on the bumper but when I returned it, once again with no one there, I was charged $200. Message to customers: VIDEO your vehicle prior to leaving so you don't get screwed.

Tim T. 
Rating:
3.0

I should have been told that $5.14 was deducted from my account without my permission and absolutely no reason why. I didn't go over the mileage and returned the truck full of gas.

Tammy D. 
Rating:
4.0

Nothing needs to be improved

James V. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lewis B. 
Rating:
5.0

Overall was very easy and with great customer service with a local business. Truck only came with 7/8 full gas tank which the technician changed on the contract prior to leaving the business.

William S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GEORGE S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Don B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tiffany S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steven W. 
Rating:
5.0

It was stat the gas tank was on "full". Didn't notice until I was about a mile away, it was only a little over 3/4. I filled it before I returned so I wouldn't get charged $4.25 a gallon. I think I only went 19 miles. Cost 19.43 in gas!

Susan S. 
Rating:
2.0

Check out person was pleasant but continued to push damage coverage which I declined because she was so pushy. I was then told I must inspect the truck for any damage before taking it as I would be responsible, the truck had scrapes and scratches all over it with stickers with X to acknowledge previous damage. It took 30 minutes in total to check out. The guy who checked me out could not have been more pleasant. Then as I was pulling out I noticed the gas was not full as I had been told, I took a picture and showed it when I dropped truck off. I have rented trucks from you for years this one checkout woman while pleasant seemed to be getting commission on damage sales, because I her I would not go to this location again.

John C. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service. Fast and easy.

JESSIE E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Stephanie S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOHN G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Arthur H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Marian S. 
Rating:
5.0

There was sand in the back from the last renter but other than that everything was great! Thank you!

Laurie G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

NICHOLAS R. 
Rating:
5.0

thank you

John P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Miranda H. 
Rating:
1.0

Driver door didn't close properly and battery died. Horrible experience. Terrible customer service. Very unhappy and still waiting to be contacts.

Mark B. 
Rating:
4.0

Clearer signage

Mark D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Patrick Q. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Andrew H. 
Rating:
3.0

Had to clean the wheels on the furniture dollies as they were dirty/gritty. I was using them on hardwood & carpeted floors. Location was local - just a few miles from home.

Pete N. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BRIAN M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Christopher J G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dale L. 
Rating:
1.0

That was a bad experience. You over charged me . Will not ever rent from you again , and will recommend not to rent to peolpe i know . Thanks for breaking my wallet .

Robert N. 
Rating:
5.0

Folks at Scammons Home & Garden were lovely and made me feel comfortable with the process. This was my first time at their center and I'll certainly be back for those services as well!

Ruth J. 
Rating:
5.0

Easy check-in online and pick-up in person. Vehicle was clean and in good condition. Employee was wearing a mask and following COVID protocols. Thanks!

Christian M. 
Rating:
4.0

Not an issue with location but I travelled 29 miles and to fill tank it took 4 gallons. Question if previous renter really filled tank fully. As in many vehicles can look full for awhile may have a better way to check.

KAREN P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

robert M. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gary M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jamie M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joshua R. 
Rating:
5.0

The original reservation was for pickup at the Dover location. I believe that the truck should be picked up at the location reserved and that Uhaul should be responsible for getting the truck to that location. Finding out that I needed to pickup at a different location became an inconvenience as I had planned to walk to the Dover location. Because of the change I had to scramble to get dropped off at the other location.

Frances P. 
Rating:
4.0

Nice big lot, automatic doors, prompt service

Thomas K. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bonnie M. 
Rating:
5.0

Use signage to mark parking for return of equipment.

JOHN P. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Stephen F. 
Rating:
5.0

Great.

TIMOTHY KEITH B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JEFFERY R. 
Rating:
2.0

The night delivery was not good. Not easy to find the drive. When you arrive, the gates were locked and you had to "discover" the gravel path next to the road. No signage for key drop box - did it even exist? No lighting, so pictures of drop off location worthless. Not a good place for night drop.

Roger K. 
Rating:
5.0

Fix your app! It has a horrible user experience. Your awful app could have been a deal breaker for me if the location wasn't open to Assist me.

Lisa P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jeffery R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lawrence M. 
Rating:
5.0

Matt is awesome and always super helpful!

Paul P. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top