Customer Reviews for JR Auto Repair & Towing
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

131 reviews

1538 N 2725th Rd   Ottawa, IL 61350

(815) 313-4217

Office Hours

  • Mon-Tue: 9 am–4 pm
  • Wed: 9 am–2 pm
  • Thur-Fri: 9 am–4 pm
  • Sat-Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 6/21/2024: Closed
  • 6/22/2024: Closed
  • 6/23/2024: Closed
  • 6/24/2024: Closed
  • 6/25/2024: Closed
  • 6/26/2024: Closed
  • 6/27/2024: Closed
  • 6/28/2024: Closed
  • 6/29/2024: Closed
  • 6/30/2024: Closed
  • 7/1/2024: Closed
  • 7/4/2024: Closed

Show All Hours

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(815) 313-4217

1538 N 2725th Rd
Ottawa, IL 61350

Services at this Location:

Office Hours

  • Mon-Tue: 9 am–4 pm
  • Wed: 9 am–2 pm
  • Thur-Fri: 9 am–4 pm
  • Sat-Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 6/21/2024: Closed
  • 6/22/2024: Closed
  • 6/23/2024: Closed
  • 6/24/2024: Closed
  • 6/25/2024: Closed
  • 6/26/2024: Closed
  • 6/27/2024: Closed
  • 6/28/2024: Closed
  • 6/29/2024: Closed
  • 6/30/2024: Closed
  • 7/1/2024: Closed
  • 7/4/2024: Closed

Show All Hours

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Thanks!

Jay M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tiffany W 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

THOMAS M 
Rating:
1.0

We arrived in the middle of nowhere, bad cellular service - trying to pick up the rental , it was an absolute disaster. I called the numbers provided for me by the app assistant, but every operator had different instructions. When JR Auto arrived I was told by the attendant that she could not assist me and to not take it personal. When I explained to her that the app was telling me that my reservation was cancelled - she confirmed it wasn't - she pointed to the computer screen but apologized again for inconvenience because she was unable to help me. We were confused, no one else was there but us, we were ignored shortly thereafter. What was more disturbing was the smoke from her cigarettes? She was smoking the whole time and It smelled disgusting in there and when we left the office our clothes smelled like cigarette smoke. I recommend taking a mask and or Tyvek suit or just throw your clothes away, if you have allergies don't go inside. If your location setting on your phone doesn't register correctly your reservation is put in a hold status. The inconvenience of trying to get a signal made us late picking it up even though we were there for 30 minutes prior to pick up. Big pain !

Sylvia R 
Rating:
5.0

Great service

James R 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Patrick S 
Rating:
3.0

The location is outside of town so it is a pain to get back into town if you're not well prepared for that.

Devin H 
Rating:
5.0

I was over charged and still haven't been refunded

Sarah S 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Wendy K 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brandon d 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jared F 
Rating:
5.0

Service was exceptional.

Michael O 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

gary f 
Rating:
5.0

Extra money was added from original quote and am confused as to why this happened

Theresa C 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MaryAnn J 
Rating:
5.0

JR Auto is a great place to deal with. Always have the equipment ready and they’re very helpful.

Tom M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MARCIA M 
Rating:
5.0

Used cell phone pick up but kept getting kicked off of the website. Spoke with a live agent who was able to help.

Tom M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MERRILL G 
Rating:
1.0

The truck I rented today was smeared with animal feces and i had to use my hedding to put down and cover the shit up so my furniturewouldnt get ruined!! I HAD TO THROW AWAY MY BEDDING ALSO BECAUSE IT WAS FULL OF ANIMAL SHIT, WHO'S RE EMBURSSING ME FOR THAT. WHAT A DISGUSTING DISGRACE. How about you hire people to dothe job they are getting paid for! Im sickened and disgusted by having to pay for this kind of service! Would you pay?? I will make sure and let social media know how i was treated and show them what i had to deal with!! Oh you're damn right i have pictures!!!!The woman that rented it to me is a LIAR and LIED!

TERESA C 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tamara A 
Rating:
3.0

Nobody was there. Didn't answer the phone but the website said it was open.

Maria R 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brittany V 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BETTY S 
Rating:
5.0

No improvement necessary. Rental was smooth & courteous, pleasant experience.

Don W 
Rating:
1.0

This is the wrong location which we agreed to drop off. The drop off took me over 30 to 45 minutes because of the problems caused by your team. We agreed that drop off was 229 Estates Market 1002 1st Ave Ottawa, IL 61350. This was agreed and confirmed during scheduling and confirmed with your scheduling team.

Timothy J 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Rachel F 
Rating:
1.0

Staff at this location would not assist us, did not tell us not to park where we parked. They lied, Polly the worker came charging over to my car screaming and throwing her hands in my car window. They hit us with double fee and a cleaning fee when it was not only delivered early but clean. Liars and thief’s.

Julie B 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brittany K 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

THOMAS M 
Rating:
5.0

Been there twice Both times I have gotten excellent service

James C 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Deborah H 
Rating:
3.0

I paid for a dolly, i didn't receive one. I got to JR auto at the time i was supposed pick up the truck but had horrible service. already in the stressful situation with moving. i filled up the tank when i dropped it off, i got charged with a gas fee. super unhappy this time around with uhaul.

ALYSSA G 
Rating:
3.0

At the start of my trip, the gas tank was was not ‘full’, even though gauge was at ‘F’. It took me 6 gallons more to take the empty truck to my destination than it took to return to the exact location, same route, loaded! I filled the tank upon returning the truck, until the gas handle automatically shut off. Apparently the previous user or vendor did not.

John D 
Rating:
5.0

Only negative is that I ordered a dolly but it wasn’t in the truck.

Barbara F 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Karley D 
Rating:
5.0

Make sure your website works. I tried using the phone option instead of in-person and your web site kept kicking me out

Tom M 
Rating:
5.0

No problems

Joe A 
Rating:
5.0

Easy pick up and drop off. Fair Price! Definitely recommend.

jEFF S 
Rating:
1.0

I was lied to about a truck that was bigger than what I requested, that was the only one that was going to be available and I had to move that following Saturday so I had to take it. But was told I was going to be able to keep it for 2 days without the extra day being charged because I had to drive an extra 35 miles just to pick it up. I was also charged them extra miles that I had to drive to get it and was told I wouldn't be! At the end of my using the truck I was charged the extra miles and I was also charged for the extra day that they said I would not be! I was lied to! Shame on you! I'm a single parent and fighting 2 different types of cancer and I'm on a fixed income!!! All that other charging I was charged I did not add that to my budget! When I called and spoke with the lady about all this crap and being lied to she said she was going to look into it and call me as soon as she had answers! That was 2 days ago and I still haven't heard from anyone! I will NEVER use your lying pathetic company again and I promise you I will spread the word to as many as I can as to what you did to me and how you lied to me! What a disgrace and you should be ashamed of yourselves for this robbery that you commit but I know you won't because you don't give a damn about me or anyone else you rob and lie to!

TERESA C 
Rating:
1.0

There is no cell phone service around that area, it took me an hour to get through the steps online to check out the truck, I tried calling and the person who answered told me it’s 6:30 am we don’t open till 8c not my problem you can’t get the truck you rented for 6:30 pick up. then the truck was blocked in by 2 other trucks so I had to maneuver carefully not to damage another truck. Low coolant light was on, front brakes were squeaking untill I drop it off and then they were grinding, front ball joints were super bad, felt Like front end was gonna fall apart.

Chris J 
Rating:
4.0

Location was friendly however I had to call U-Haul directly to correct the drop off as I was told there was nothing they could do when I was told it was over 30 miles away. When I called i was told it was because they put in the wrong city. I am not sure if that was the case but it is was I was told.

Robin G 
Rating:
5.0

Very good i love this place

Sadie J 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jeff M 
Rating:
5.0

The staff was very friendly and helpful. This was the cleanest U-Haul I e ever been in.

Hope F 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael C 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MARK A 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kimberly G 
Rating:
5.0

Renting was very easy and staff was amazing! I couldn't find another truck anywhere on a Saturday morning, but JR had my back!!

kAREN M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ROBERT W 
Rating:
5.0

The place that I picked it up from was PERFECT, no problems, but the actual U-Haul rental that I had changed last minute, I had to change locations (out of town), and the truck itself was not available for 24 hours, leaving me scrambling to find help earlier due to the time restraint. Overall, it was very frustrating to get what I needed and have enough time. I think unless I hear from a representative or get a more in depth explanation I will be using a different company next time. Very disappointing and frustrating, on top of MOVING, which is in itself frustrating. AGAIN, the company in Ottawa that helped was GREAT, nice place, nice people, great service.

Bethany Z 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Cody G 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

lisa g 
Rating:
2.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Candice T 
Rating:
5.0

Had too many bug's on the front of truck.

Paul L 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jessica S 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Wayne S 
Rating:
5.0

The truck was very old and rattled a lot on the road. Thankfully we had a local move as I would not want to rent this truck for any distance. Didn’t feel safe on highway

Janee M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Grant G 
Rating:
4.0

These people where flabbergasted I was issued a truck with no passenger side mirror.

Andrew S 
Rating:
1.0

When I arrive they had pricing incorrect. I showed the gentleman my quote and he still insist on quoting me more. That took up so much time. I called uhaul, I had to wait for a call back causing more time. All he had to do was look at the quote or call himself. It was a nightmare.

ANGEL P 
Rating:
3.0

I dropped off after hours, so I don’t have any interactions to base an opinion on.

Jasmine B 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

HEATHER M 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was wonderful our customer service rep I’m so sorry I don’t remember her name set us up with an extra day I didn’t realize how long it would take to load the truck

Cindy C 
Rating:
4.0

Reiterating to customers if they go over their scheduled time that they’ll be charged an additional day’s rate. Therefore customers can adjust time slot before purchasing if needed. Providing basic information about possible charges should be standard practice. Otherwise, great place to rent U-Haul as the 15’ was in great condition.

kerstin l 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brad B 
Rating:
4.0

Your app and online check in system did not work at all. It was abysmal and frustrating! The WORST!!!

MARKANDREW R 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DENINE N 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

WIRT T 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jacob R 
Rating:
1.0

The contract read the wrong mileage. No one could help. The process for online is terrible. The wait times to speak to a representative were over an hour. The online chat wouldn’t respond. Awful experience.

Kyle H 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

jessica w 
Rating:
2.0

The parking lot was a muddy mess due the recent snow melt. No way to keep boots clean, let alone the floor boards of the truck. If it’s raining, I was told by the employee, that it actually gets worse. Supposed to be contactless pickup, but then I had to go retrieve the key from the office. While there they said that Uhaul wanted two additional names and phone numbers. WTH! I don’t know if they were telling the truth or not. I gave them the names, but was not happy off the change.

DAVID D 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Don R 
Rating:
5.0

The lady that helped me was super kind. Felt like we were old friends. They had two dogs there that were super sweet. Would totally rent again if I needed.

Matt P 
Rating:
4.0

I was a bit disappointed that the place was closed so the owners could self-quarantine. I'm happy that they were quarantining, don't get me wrong; I really dislike the online checkin process and would have preferred an option to select a new location.

Erika S 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Duane S 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing, the lady was so kind to us!

Samantha P 
Rating:
5.0

As I was filling the tank back up, the truck died & I had to find a jump! Would not turn over & key was hard to remove….. click click click

Tiffany D 
Rating:
1.0

I’m pick up twan dolly 3:30pm in return 10:30pm Sam day I’m rent for 8 horas , nex day the lady charge me 20 extra dollars it’s no Good

JOEL G 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Eric S 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michelle H 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ryan H 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Nakia G 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Johnathan F 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Donald M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Rick G 
Rating:
1.0

Horrible customer service no helping the customer just looking out for their business

Herman M 
Rating:
5.0

We felt we were in good hands with this UHaul Rental office. The woman working there was so kind and patient with us. She really went out of her way to help with what we needed.

Laura K 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jonathan F 
Rating:
1.0

The environment was poor. I walked in to an extremely smoked filled office. (Ihave chronic migraines & it's a top trigger) The personal didn't even take time to explain the truck features & where features were located on the dashboard. (how to open & lock the truck) They didn't go over markings on the truck to be sure I didn't cause any of them. I accidentally rented the truck a day earlier, I asked to bring the truck back & just be charged for the 2 hrs I had it. Nope. They were not even renting that truck that day. There was no reason they couldn't have allowed me to bring the truck back. No where did it say once you get the truck your charge for full day. When I was on websites it gave me the choice to rent it by the hour. Upon returning the truck, for being 40 mins. late they were going to charge me an entire 24hr rental fee/ plus rent it to another client. I had to threaten to call my lawyer & it was an awful stressful situation. They said I will now be red lined & no longer able to use Uhal in the future. I am a newly disabled individual & had just suffered a horrible injury the night before. Moving to a new place is stressful enough, very costly & you have a company trying to take advantage of disabled individual. I'm still debating on wether to file a complaint that my rights have been violated. Never would I recommend this place!

Tricia K 
Rating:
5.0

Great experience friendly people

Lowell K 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ANGELETTA M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Donald A 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CURTIS Y 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kwang S 
Rating:
2.0

This location was like a visit to the Cars movie Radiator Springs. We scheduled pick up for 9 am. At 9:37, U-haul attendant still wasn't there. We were told she was dropping a kid off at camp and that no one present could help us. Finally arrived just before 10. The wiring harness on the trailer was not compatible with our truck and they had no converters available for rent or purchase. We had to make another 1hr round trip to another store to get the converter. U-haul website offered to let us purchase additional magnetized lights to attach to the back of our towed vehicle. I clicked the link to purchase them when I made my online reservation. These were not available either when we arrived at the site. U-haul employee blamed U-haul for all of these problems, as if she was not a representative of the company. I also requested the 52nd and Wads location in Arvada for drop-off. This location was reported in the reservation summary I received. However, paperwork given to us at pick-up had the drop off location changed to 44th Ave in Wheat Ridge. According to U-haul employees in Colorado, this change was made by the representative at the pickup location. This was done without our knowledge or consent and caused additional hassle when returning the trailer after a very long cross-country overnight haul.

Laura S 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dave S 
Rating:
5.0

The people at this location were very helpful when I needed help to put my car on the tow dolly they were very nice in helping me with this.

JOSE C 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Donald M 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top