Customer Reviews for Dons Auto Body
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

288 reviews

439 Sanford Rd   Alfred, ME 04002

(207) 459-7371

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8 am - 5 pm
  • Sat: 8 am - 1 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/2/2021 - 12/3/2021: 8:00 am - 3:30 pm
  • 12/4/2021: 8:00 am - 10:30 am
  • 12/6/2021 - 12/10/2021: 8:00 am - 3:30 pm
  • 12/11/2021: Closed
  • 12/14/2021 - 12/16/2021: Closed
  • 12/18/2021: Closed
  • 12/20/2021 - 12/23/2021: 8:00 am - 3:30 pm
  • 12/24/2021 - 12/26/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021 - 1/1/2022: Closed

Show All Hours

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(207) 459-7371

439 Sanford Rd
Alfred, ME 04002

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8 am - 5 pm
  • Sat: 8 am - 1 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/2/2021 - 12/3/2021: 8:00 am - 3:30 pm
  • 12/4/2021: 8:00 am - 10:30 am
  • 12/6/2021 - 12/10/2021: 8:00 am - 3:30 pm
  • 12/11/2021: Closed
  • 12/14/2021 - 12/16/2021: Closed
  • 12/18/2021: Closed
  • 12/20/2021 - 12/23/2021: 8:00 am - 3:30 pm
  • 12/24/2021 - 12/26/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021 - 1/1/2022: Closed

Show All Hours

  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Nice location. Quick process.

PATRICK MATTHEW H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ANDREW C. 
Rating:
5.0

I had an excellent experience with my rental from Don's Auto Body. The pick up went very quickly as a result of the online check in. The customer service was friendly and professional. I received all the information and paperwork needed to get me on my way for a productive move first thing in the morning.

STEPHEN M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

mark W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Richard G. 
Rating:
5.0

Great customer service

LONNIE H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DAVID L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GARY M. 
Rating:
5.0

I wish I got her name but the woman who helped us at the pick up location was great. She went above and beyond helping me get my rental after the original pick up location fell through.

Gregory S. 
Rating:
5.0

Never received a receipt. I don't know how much this cost me

Julee S. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Rachel S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

HALEY A. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

james T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Helen G. 
Rating:
5.0

There service was fine . I booked on line to Sanford it is closer. I got call confirming. I was to pick up a 15footer I called to confirm they said they did not have it and gave it to someone else. They found one in Alfred which is a distance away. I had to pay for extra mileage when its your fault. I will never use you again. When I questioned Sanford the person was rude and never said sorry. Tom Oliver

Thomas O. 
Rating:
5.0

This is more a comment for Uhaul, not the location: The safety chains on the trailer could be a lot shorter. They were dragging for me, and clearly had dragged before

Daniel V. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jasmine C. 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly staff, quick and easy pickup of the truck.

Michael W. 
Rating:
5.0

Nice people work there and they got me in and out

Roger M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CRAIG N. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing

MICHAEL S. 
Rating:
5.0

Love this place! Have renters here many times would not go anywhere else. Just great people!!!!

DENNIS C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gerald A. 
Rating:
2.0

Sign on door said Masks Required but attendant wasn't wearing one. When I asked why on the sign it was required, presumably for patrons entering, but she did not wear one inside? She replied that it was just to protect the business. So, I will not recommend a business that emphasizes protection of business over patron.

Mary C. 
Rating:
4.0

The door on drivers side was rattling and very loud

JAMIE W. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was perfect, and I wouldnt change a thing

TERESA S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Chantelle F. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent customer service

Robert M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Susan R. 
Rating:
5.0

My favorite place to rent uhaul equipment

Ryker T. 
Rating:
5.0

If these trucks are in snowy states put better quality tires on. The truck was fine, but handled poorly in snow.

RICHARD N. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SCOTT F. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Cody R. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

HEATH L. 
Rating:
5.0

I only dropped off, and did mobile app. No contact with anyone.

Walter S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Aaron W. 
Rating:
2.0

I found out at the last minute that I didn't require the rental. Unfortunately, it was too late for reimbursement. I was fine with the situation since I hadn't been able to notify them within the proper timeframe. However, the emotional demeanor from the guy behind the counter was unprofessional. I will recommend another location in the future to avoid another unnecessary dramatic response.

Richard M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael S. 
Rating:
5.0

Great choice Ashley was very helpful and A1 the other U Haul place I went firist was at Taylor Rental did not like who was in charge no personality rude

Frances C. 
Rating:
4.0

Don's was great. The woman I dealt with was very professional. What I hated was the actual online uhaul experience. The website is not accurate, directions are unclear, and sending a link that has a “expiration date” is difficult due to technology not always working. When I called uhaul on Saturday after the return issue, the woman was not helpful nor understanding. It just stinks very badly for us honest people who just had a issue with technology loading.

Samantha F. 
Rating:
1.0

I won't rent another u haul again. Worst experience I've had

Shannon T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MICHAEL W. 
Rating:
5.0

ashleigh was very nice . she worked with me to understand the charges and to get me the beat rate possible. the truck i used was great on gas safe and reliable. i will use this location in the future.

Kellie M. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing

Frederick W. 
Rating:
1.0

If i call to rent a uhaul and you dont ask me for a card dont rent it out on me then charge me for the day for a two hour window that you let me use it. Kinda waste of money and time. Shitty biz practices get shitty reviews. I was there within the hour I called

Kevin R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Matthew K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer service is top notch!!!!!

John N. 
Rating:
5.0

You could improve next time by having the equipment at the location I reserved it at. Arrived at Sac at 3:00 PM as ordered. This location said they did not have our trailer and said we had to drive 20-miles away, to Alfred, Maine, to pick it up. They said they sent a text and called us. We did not get a text or a call on this. We were moving house this day and did not have time to find this out at the last minute. On top of this, the guy serving at this location had a bad attitude and was not very nice about it. The two women that helped after he went outside, were at least nice about it and called the other location. The trailer was reserved weeks ahead of time. There was plenty of time to get this right.

Terence M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tabitha B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

PAUL D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Rick F. 
Rating:
5.0

They were very curtious and made the whole process easy . Will be using them again in near future .

Emzley N. 
Rating:
5.0

The app-only experience of registration and pickup was terrible. I would not do that again. My reservation was for 8 ...I spent 15 minutes online trying to get someone to complete my process for me

Tom T. 
Rating:
5.0

The best of the best.

Vivian S. 
Rating:
5.0

everything was excellent

Thom L. 
Rating:
5.0

Service was excellent.

Ann B. 
Rating:
2.0

Customer service at Don's Autobody was exceptional. Customer service from the Uhaul Team was very poor. I decided to try the mobile app to hopefully make my rental process go quickly and smooth. Since I am a military member, my drivers license does not have an expiration date. Uhaul personnel required me to either provide a pay stub to prove I am military, or to abandon the mobile app and check-out the truck by over-the-counter service instead. 1. If my Washington drivers license expriation date says "military", then the state already verified my employment. Why does a uhaul employee with no credentials need to verify my state drivers license and military status? 2. Who brings a printer with them to go rent a moving truck? I had no method available to provide a pay stub even if I wanted to, because the mobile app did not allow PDF files. Only Photos. I felt that I was bluntly discriminated against because I am military. Mark my words, I will NEVER use UHaul again. I'll pay more and drive a greater distance for better customer service from Penske.

Ryan M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Percy C. 
Rating:
2.0

Called and made reservation for 20ft truck.. order was confirmed. The day before I was called by the office to state they didn't have the 20ft available due to another reservation but could offer me the 15ft truck.. and that the only other 20ft vehicle Available near me was 45 minutes Away. I agreed to the 15ft because it was my only option. The next day I came to pick up the truck and AGAIN by reservation was changed and now they said all they had was a 26ft. Needless to say I was unhappy and not prepared to drive a vehicle of that size but had no option

Ashley L. 
Rating:
3.0

Don's autobody was great and helpful. I have used them for my past uhaul experience and never had and issue.

James S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MICHAEL S. 
Rating:
5.0

I have rented from here before and was impressed by the service and professionalism. This rental was no different. Excellent experience from reservation to assisting with the hook up to returning the trailer.

Vicky S. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing , Great service

Willard A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John R. 
Rating:
5.0

The springs in the van provided a very uncomfortable ride off the expressway

Dennis O. 
Rating:
5.0

This was very convenient, rental was easy, staff extremely friendly and helpful, will recommend to others and use again.

Melissa T. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was fine

John F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

patrick G. 
Rating:
3.0

The people whom I rented from seemed to act as though I was an inconvenience to them to assist me. A little on the rude side.

Rebecca P. 
Rating:
3.0

They need to explain all details (charges) of renting a U-Haul. Got charged more than what was mentioned.

Sue D. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Xander D. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service everytime

Scott P. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing that I can think of

Leslie S. 
Rating:
5.0

Equipment was clean and the service was very friendly. Id go back to this UHaul again without hesitation.

Michael P. 
Rating:
3.0

The truck smelled like fish out back. Also your online pickup is long, difficult, and frustrating!!

Gideon G. 
Rating:
5.0

They did great, highly recommended

Scott P. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

William Y. 
Rating:
4.0

The brakes on the 20' truck I rented made an awful grating sound when applied and did not build confidence that the truck would stop appropriately in a crisis situation.

Mark M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ray P. 
Rating:
5.0

Can't improve perfect, what can I say!! Thank you

Robert L. 
Rating:
4.0

The lady answering the phone was very helpful and nice to talk too.

Kerry D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kenneth R. 
Rating:
2.0

This is not a bad pickup spot, however my 2star rating is due to being over charged 5 miles! When I tried to contact them I got no response! I suggest if you go with with this place then make them check the uhaul out BEFORE you leave there. I put trust in them and obviously I should not. Very disappointing customer service.

Amy M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Erica K. 
Rating:
5.0

l thought the e-mail work sheet hard so l waited to deal with sombody live at the place

patrick L. 
Rating:
5.0

Friendly, efficient and helpful. Very good experience.

Timothy B. 
Rating:
1.0

Trailer was old. The running light didn't work. Made traveling across country with two babies very unsafe. Got a ticket for the light.

Carl L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Marco M. 
Rating:
5.0

Rental agent had some trouble with website Maybe simplify app

Bob M. 
Rating:
5.0

The posted speed limit with the 12' trailer is 55. I thought this was a recommended speed. I found out that the trailer is prone to fish tailing over that speed. I may have done something different had I known this. It was a long drive from Maine to Arizona at 55mph.

David E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bruce H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Darcy K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Erica C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ethan D. 
Rating:
5.0

It would have been nice to have a trailer crank to remove the hitch from my truck hitch. It took a couple of people to take it off (very heavy) and I injured my back pretty badly.

Sharon P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Erica C. 
Rating:
5.0

Despite requesting the trailer a week ago on your app, I didn't find out until a couple days before I'd have to drive 45 minutes away to another location to get what I reserved. I assume this to be a u-haul issue, bot an issue with the pickup location. :(

Brian S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Arthur L. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Karen M. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top