Customer Reviews for Canton House
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

115 reviews

609 14th St SE   Decatur, AL 35601

(256) 274-4561

Location Hours

  • Mon: Closed
  • Tue-Sun: 9 am - 6 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021 - 12/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021 - 1/1/2022: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(256) 274-4561

609 14th St SE
Decatur, AL 35601

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon: Closed
  • Tue-Sun: 9 am - 6 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021 - 12/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021 - 1/1/2022: Closed

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MARIA M. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent uhaul facility to rent from super great operators

RANDALL K. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing it's fine

PAUL M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kenneth T. 
Rating:
1.0

The truck was extremely dirty, dirt, leaves, cigarette butts rushed ran out of something on floor of truck, neither the man I rented from or the woman that checked truck in was very nice..they were not rude, she ask me about hand trucks I had rented. I said they are in back of truck..where the man had put them, she told me to get them out of back while she checked milage. I have rent here several times, but this was my last time with Canton house. He acted pissed because he couldnt find my reservation..I found it..he just said I'll have to do it all here...like he was aggravated..the back of truck and the ramp were filthy. He knew it because he had put the appliance trucks in back.he didnt mention it, when I got to my destination I called them no answer, I text uhaul on line, the next day he called me back..he said,yeah I often dont have time to sweep them out..I'm too busy.. at very least he could have told me truck was dirty, how long had it been sitting there, that he didnt have time to sweep it out...just all round flustrating experience with the man renting it and the woman checking it in...didnt offer me a receipt when checking it in..I ask her, will I get an email with charges she said yes..you'll get email..I've probably rented from there 3 or 4 times..never again.

Sherry D. 
Rating:
5.0

The online check in and return app was horrible. Not easily understood. Tried to upload pics as requested but didn't work. Wait time to talk to representative was outrageous

BRANDI M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAMES V. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MICHAEL B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KEVIN C. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MARK J. 
Rating:
5.0

There was much confusion on where to drop the trailer; the directed location had no parking so I was directed to the Canton house. The gentleman there was super awesome and helpful and very understanding although he already had 4 carhaulers on his lot. There is a great need for these trailers elsewhere but I understand worker shortages. Thank you for helping me get my piece of history home safe and sound! I will be back with future needs!

Jonathan H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dennis T. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

WILLIAM M. 
Rating:
5.0

Convenient hours. In and out very quickly. Courteous.

JOHN J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Leland W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer friendly with prompt pickup and delivery.

JIMMY G. 
Rating:
5.0

Great experience good service.

JUSTIN T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JASON S. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dean S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ALEXIS E. 
Rating:
1.0

Terrible location. Attached to a restaurant so there was a lack of attention for my return. I was also charged an extra day, when in fact I had not extended for an extra day.

Shanise S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BOBBY A. 
Rating:
5.0

Jimmy Cai, owner-manager of this location, is the best. He secured a truck for me during a period of high demand, and was very helpful in making sure that my reservation was set up in a way that was the most cost efficient for me. He arranged return of the truck so that it was easy and convenient for me. Also worked to resolve an error in charges made by UHaul so that I didn't have to navigate UHaul's customer service line with its long hold times. I highly recommend him and will definitely rent from him again even though I live outside of Decatur. Well worth the drive to Decatur for the excellent customer service!

JACK B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

WESLEY F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KRISTEN M. 
Rating:
5.0

easy hook up plenty of room for manuvering

WAYNE K. 
Rating:
5.0

Great location to rent from... always friendly and helpful!

RANDALL K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOHN H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BRUCE H. 
Rating:
3.0

This was the worst experience ever. There was no one on the premises because they were closed which I was unaware of. Took 1.5hrs to get checked in finally. I tried for 55 minutes to return the uhaul but was unsuccessful Finally after a 48 minute wait time I got to speak with someone who helped. I even drove over to the uhaul store on 6th Ave and was told by the female inside that she couldn't help me at all!! This was the worst experience ever!!

David S. 
Rating:
5.0

The operator at this location is very professional, helpful and friendly!

RANDALL K. 
Rating:
5.0

None

JANICE S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tammora H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAMES B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Wendy B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tate N. 
Rating:
4.0

Person at the counter was very friendly and helpful for turning in my trailer.

Peter T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Christopher W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DAVID C. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SCOTT O. 
Rating:
4.0

Truck needed maintenance stuff that should have been done before me or ppl before me used it

KIMBERLEY P. 
Rating:
5.0

After having a reservation for 2 weeks at the 6th Ave store in Decatur and had it reserved for 24 hours; when I went to pick up the truck this morning the General Manager rudely told me that she had rented it out and I had to have it returned by closing this afternoon and without asking she moved my reservation to another site. When I got to the place she moved my reservation to, the owner was very polite and told me that he was sorry and gave me a better truck. I am very pleased with this location (CantonHouse) and on my next need of a truck rental I will be using him.

ANDREA R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

NATHAN F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JIE C. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joshua J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Randall F. 
Rating:
5.0

Jimmy offered get service hooking the trailer up in the rain. Trailer pulled good.

Anthony C. 
Rating:
5.0

G

DARRELL W. 
Rating:
5.0

I give 5 stars!!!!!!

BRADLEY B. 
Rating:
1.0

It is a self-service drop site. I found this process to be a little odd.

William C. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ARTAVIOUS W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David C. 
Rating:
5.0

Price was a little high in my opinion.

arthor P. 
Rating:
5.0

I can't think of anything. The entire process was pretty painless and quick.

FRIEDRICH W. 
Rating:
2.0

Had almost no equipment aside from the actual trucks.

Thomas A. 
Rating:
5.0

Explain that the location is actually a restaurant.

Curtis H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Aaron C. 
Rating:
5.0

They were efficient and friendly. They provided everything that we needed to get the uhauls returned.

Denise C. 
Rating:
5.0

Keep being great

Terry P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert W. 
Rating:
3.0

We had to go to 3 locations before we picked up the trailer at Canton house. The first place was not helpful at all. The second place was helpful but did not explain the process got to Canton house and no one was there. The door was locked. We went back to the original location and she did make a phone call for us. We went back to canton house and were finally able to get the trailer.

PAUL B. 
Rating:
3.0

We arrived after open hours. It was really late, and there was no clear area marked for drop box. I never saw one, so I left the key in the door drop at the I Storage office next door! Other than that, all was great!

JIMMY W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ANDREW B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Patrick G. 
Rating:
5.0

I am 100% satisfied with the service and experience on this rental truck. Company was professional and acomidating. Their hours of service makes it alot more flex able on pickup and return. I will definatly refer and use again.

Mark R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lesley S. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent service!! Thank you!

Jeffrey S. 
Rating:
1.0

Change the location the lady was very rude towards me by down looking at me as if am there to rent for free

Biftu M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David T. 
Rating:
5.0

Jimmy did a great job supplying us with the truck best fit for our needs and at a great price! We will definitely be back!

zachary gene B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

reba S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MATT S. 
Rating:
1.0

Why do you place an order online and select a designated location when you're going to change the location. If I place an order at a designated location I expect to pick up the truck at that location, if the truck is not available at that location move the truck to that location, this is your issue not mine... I had to drive across town to pick up the truck and then they did not have all the moving blankets I ordered so they instructed me to go to a different location to pick up the moving blankets and a different location to pick up shrink wrap because he did not have it either and all of this on Black Friday. What a waste of two hours of my time. When I requested to pick up the truck by my house NOT across town...NOT acceptable!!

Thomas H. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Molly C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

chrystal R. 
Rating:
5.0

Longer straps to strap down trucks wheels

Bobby M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Edward H. 
Rating:
3.0

fACILITY WAS CLOSED AFTER BEING TOLD IT WOULD BE OPEN. NO PHYSICAL CONTACT WITH ANYONE

Peter D. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Paul M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Wendy W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

jessica B. 
Rating:
5.0

curious and friendly

Sally W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bart C. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jocelyn C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SHANE S. 
Rating:
5.0

Jimmy did a great job. However, the electronic check in process did not work well. Not his fault, but it was frustrating. We had made the reservation at a different location and were not notified in advance that the pickup location was different. This created a delay for us at the beginning of a long day. Jimmy did a great job once we got to him though.

john S. 
Rating:
5.0

Best experience possible! The customer service is outstanding!

PEGGY P. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bridgett W. 
Rating:
3.0

I asked for the rental in a town 10 miles south of the location that was eventually provided. There were 2 UHaul locations in the town that I asked for. I should not have been forced to go to a different town. Unacceptable customer service.

Brian H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Christopher H. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jimmy S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOHN B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

lynn M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jamie H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

kevin D. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jocelyn C. 
Rating:
3.0

I was supposed to drop this trailer at your company store at 1802 6th Ave SE, In Decatur, AL. When I arrived and parked in the equipment rental return area, a young lady came out and said she did not have room on her lot for the trailer. It was raining and I was needing to get on my way. She instructed me that she could not take it at that location and I needed to take the trailer to the Canton House restaurant parking lot about a half mile away across the busy four lane highway where we were. I feel this was not my problem and she should have let me drop the trailer where I was supposed to. To me this is very unacceptable,especially at your company store.

Robert S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ROBERT R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Patsy W. 
Rating:
5.0

Truck wasn't available at original location, had to drive to different location to get a truck. Cost me lost time and extra milage, did provide a larger truck at no extra cost though.

Farrell C. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Self-Storage Icon
    Self-Storage

    We have the most coverage in North America!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top