Customer Reviews for Affordable Self Storage
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

404 reviews

69 Railroad Ave Ste D   Hilo, HI 96720

(808) 934-0014

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 7:30 am - 5 pm
  • Sat-Sun: 7:30 am - 11:30 am
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021: 7:30 am - 12:00 pm
  • 12/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021: 7:30 am - 12:00 pm
  • 1/1/2022: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(808) 934-0014

69 Railroad Ave Ste D
Hilo, HI 96720

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 7:30 am - 5 pm
  • Sat-Sun: 7:30 am - 11:30 am
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021: 7:30 am - 12:00 pm
  • 12/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021: 7:30 am - 12:00 pm
  • 1/1/2022: Closed

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Always good service and caring people!

Mary Jane M. 
Rating:
5.0

Thank you for your help and i definately recommend these guys as a place to store your belongings and not having to worry about the safety of them.

Jennifer D.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Diane C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sumi L. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mary Jane M. 
Rating:
5.0

Love this place. Friendly staff,clean units.

Antolene N.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jed R. 
Rating:
5.0

Get some trucks with hydraulic tail gate lifts.

Lev Y. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael S. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing. The folks at your Railroad Ave Hilo location are top notch and unmatched in customer service. Thanks.

Frederick R. 
Rating:
5.0

excellent experience

James M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Wesley Y. 
Rating:
5.0

Mr. john West was AWESOME; knowledgeable and professional. The van was great! The rear view camera is a great feature to have! I will definitely recommend U-Haul of Hilo Hawaii to everyone! Excellent service! Happy Customer.

Aurelia P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ANTHONY F. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sue A. 
Rating:
5.0

Very convenient and lower priced than the competition in this area. Special thanks to employee John from North Carolina whose friendly and personable approach to customer service makes our local U-Haul service feel like a small hometown business.

Scott B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CONSTANCE B. 
Rating:
4.0

We were so happy to be able to rent a larger truck on the hilo side. Everything went well and everyone was professional. Thank you.

Michael S. 
Rating:
5.0

Make sure you understand the time to return Van or the time limit when need to extend another day. The people Juan & John were great by accomodating my need to extend van use another 2 days due to bad rain Hilo weather. Was relieved Juan worked it out for me. aloha mahalo xomm marina P.S. Didn't know can't rental or hold van with a prepaid debit card. Forced to find fcu issuing immediate debit card when enroll in fcu. Inconvenient hassle to have to call gfrd for using her debit credit card to rent van. Phew !

Lindamarina C. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing, we have rented from here often the staff are very helpful and knowledgeable, we couldn't wish for better service!

George A B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bernice K. 
Rating:
5.0

Your customer service representative was extraordinary. Unfortunately, we were not able to complete our overall purpose in transporting a piano, as the truck with a ramp I had booked was suddenly taken out of service. It turned out that we were unable to lift an upright piano into the van we were given instead of the truck.

Lea C. 
Rating:
5.0

The gentleman that assisted me was very nice, helpful and a hard worker. There were several people waiting and he made sure he acknowledged us and let us know he would be with us as quickly as possible.

Dana B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joan N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Penny E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jan E. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Harry B. 
Rating:
5.0

attendants were awesome

Heidi M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Miles W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kirsten P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Priscilla F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Julio T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gail D. 
Rating:
5.0

I think his name was josh. Awesome customer service. It was very easy to work with.

Dayton K. 
Rating:
5.0

I am very impressed with the rental of our U-Haul truck. The truck served the purpose very well with our tools we needed to haul around with us on our stay there. Thank you to the staff members who were very helpful and prompt with our needs. We will use them again for sure.

Christine W. 
Rating:
4.0

Ty good experience

Marcus R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jason Y. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Roy M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Darrell S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Erin R. 
Rating:
5.0

Superb service and friendliness.

Thomas P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Andrea W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Darlene M. 
Rating:
5.0

Rental was quick and easy. Personnel (online and in person) where friendly and professional.

Herbert M. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing to improve we have always had great service with uhaul and highly recommend to anyone looking for short term rental

George B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Natasha R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Natasha R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

margaret K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lehneer C. 
Rating:
5.0

Great and friendly service.

Thomas P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

LARRY R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Xavier A. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joanna B. 
Rating:
5.0

Prompt and very friendly. We where very happy with our service

JULIAN V. 
Rating:
5.0

Associates were friendly and helpful

Ikaika B. 
Rating:
5.0

John who works at this location is incredible. Friendly, efficient and overall a great person. This is my second time renting from him and plan on only renting at this location because of him.

Darrell S. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent customer service and clean vehicle!

Puhala K. 
Rating:
5.0

Super service.

Thomas P. 
Rating:
5.0

Great staff! Been renting from this place for years now.

Carol R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ron C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brianna V. 
Rating:
5.0

John's help was excellent, knowledgeable, patient, friendly and courteous, an Asset to your company. And Juan just as friendly

Sergio R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jesse K. 
Rating:
5.0

Service is great! Love these guys. Always rent from them.

Carol R. 
Rating:
5.0

Person helping me was personable and friendly. Got through the sign in process quickly and explained about the truck. Answered my questions about the location of items in the truck like lights, windshield wipers, etc. Truck was easy to drive. Return process was simple, too. Great borrowing experience.

Carolyn U. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Roy O. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent people who are very helpful. Hats off to your staff

Michael L. 
Rating:
5.0

Staff was welcoming, friendly and efficient. I was pressed for time and they had me out quick! Thank you so much!

Fina O. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lehneer Francis C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Frank G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Traci T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DONEL D. 
Rating:
5.0

Both gentlemen who work at the Railroad Ave. location are friendly, efficient, and patient. That combination makes this Big Island U-Haul business a pleasure to deal with.

Frederick R. 
Rating:
5.0

Great customer service. You need to upgrade the office for a better customer experience.

Curtis L. 
Rating:
5.0

The process with your rental was done with complete care and proffesionalism.

ALBERT D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Isabella W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Timothy B. 
Rating:
5.0

Fast service with great customer service

Jess A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mark J. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent customer service

Maria K. 
Rating:
5.0

Keep up the good work!

Robert W. 
Rating:
1.0

The worker harassed me to bring the van back early. Even 7 not open yet still full 24 HR. chg. Harassed me during the day at lunch. Then after I called back gave my card made more arrangement harassed me again that night. I didn't get the van till 1 waited 2 hrs and it was so bad had to clean another. HR 1 pm but harassed to return at 1045am..

larri K. 
Rating:
5.0

This was my first time renting from U-Haul and it was great. The customer service was amazing and if I ever need a moving vehicle in the future, this U-haul location will be my very first choice.

Pulama G. 
Rating:
2.0

Invoice is a couple of hundred dollars more than it should have been

Emerson I. 
Rating:
4.0

The location is in a great area near the airport and port. I had a great experience with John West, the associate at the rental site. I'm disappointed that I was able to sign up for a time earlier than it actually opened. I lost almost an hour. The van was a little beat up, but I ran fine and the ac worked. Overall, it was a good experience and I would use them again. Thank you!

Destinee K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jason H. 
Rating:
5.0

Juan was excellent and his customer service was amazing. He was friendly and explained everything very professionally. Thank you for the service.

denise P. 
Rating:
5.0

The representative at the front desk was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. A+ service.

Conroy H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KASSANDRA K. 
Rating:
5.0

Juan Silk provided great customer service.

Amanda W. 
Rating:
5.0

I prefer to pick up a truck with a full tank of gas, and return it with a full tank.

Hawea M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Shane V. 
Rating:
4.0

My issue is with the Uhaul website. When I made a reservation, the website allowed me to make a reservation with a uhaul dealer that wasn't even open on the date I reserved. Please update your website. It was annoying and inconvenient to have to call your company three times, wait on hold for 10 minutes each time, only to be told, “We are working on it, ma'am.” People in the middle of moving, which can be stressful, don't need the added stress of not knowing if they will have a truck on the date it is needed.

Jonathan M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Barry K. 
Rating:
3.0

Reserve 20 footer hauler truck on a friday @ 10am [called station early morning before to check up on the truck availability (it was not ready until 3:30pm that day; because of wiper trouble)]; I was instructed by the Booker/sales clerk. to standby for their call... so I waited; finally gotten call & said the truck now is okay & available or 4pm... so went station & pick up truck @ 3:30pm [didn't see the logic of timing arrangement that has been made]; my thought-thinking if a customer like me or anyone else renting a hauler truck pick up time @ 3:30pm [renting it for one day] anyone would expect it to be returned @ 3:30pm the next day [that is the official one day truck rental agreement it should be]; not only that (2ndly the weather was also a factor to also considered as a delay; reason is customer don't want things in a carton boxes becomes all wet during Dooley cart loading process; cause it weakens the boxes). I no compassion or courtesy on d part of the Company Business Agent that day; as a customer I sense that workers are not communicating well w/ each other for a good transition service w/ their customers... they have to do better than that. Please treat the customer fairly & honestly. The old saying, "honesty is the best policy..." Thank you very much U-Haul... I've your customer for over 18 years... I've so good in the past... but now you are out of shape; so shape up & treat your self & your fellow Company workers well... I am sure all will work out sooner or later for good. Oh well... It could be Covid19... It's understood. Praying for greatness... Always. Thanks U-Haul for your past great service... MAHALO & Aloha...

Rex D. 
Rating:
5.0

Superb service.

Thomas P. 
Rating:
5.0

John provided excellent customer service with professional expertise and courtesy. This was especially wonderful and appreciated given the real-time pressure to handle multiple tasks and customers simultaneously. John gets an A+ in my book, a rare distinction.

Mary M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Melissa K. 
Rating:
5.0

Great customer service thank you

Valerie L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Adraian D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Elizabeth D. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Self-Storage Icon
    Self-Storage

    We have the most coverage in North America!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top